New Books & Updated Editions - Levy Library Guides at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

New Books and Updated Editions, October 19, 2022

10/19/2022

Kaci Resau

No Subjects

Featured New Titles & Updated Editions

Seeing Science by Marvin Heiferman; Scott Kelly (Foreword by)

Call Number: TR 692 S44 2019 (Print Book: Available in Levy Library)

ISBN: 9781597114479

Publication Date: 2019-05-29

Seeing Science offers an insightful and reader-friendly collection of essays and pictures about photography's role in visualizing science and building human knowledge-from micro to macro levels and everything in between.

Photography Changes Everything by Marvin Heiferman (Editor); Merry A. Foresta (Foreword by)

Call Number: TR 183 P487 2012 (Print Book: Available in Levy Library)

ISBN: 9781597111997

Publication Date: 2012-06-30

Photography Changes Everything-drawn from the online Smithsonian Photography Initiative-offers a provocative rethinking of photography's impact on our culture and our lives.

Change how you see, see how you change by Positive Exposure/Rick Guidotti

Call Number: HV3011 .P67 2017 (Print Book: Available in Levy Library)

Publication Date: 2017

Celebrating the beauty of human diversity through photography.

Test-Taking Strategies for the USMLE Step 2 Exam by Julia I. Reading

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9781264258758

Publication Date: 2023-02-03

Build the test-taking skills you need to ace your coursework and USMLE exams The very first resource of its kind, this innovative resource helps you build the skills specifically required to pass the first two years of coursework and the USMLE exams.

CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2023 by Jacob A. David

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9781264892228

Publication Date: 2022-11-18

The authoritative guidelines you need to diagnose and treat the most common outpatient conditions--updated with the latest research available for each guideline Concise yet comprehensive, CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2023 provides quick access to screening, prevention, and treatment guidelines for the most common outpatient conditions. Content is drawn from a wide array of recommendations from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific organizations.

Molmenti's Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation: Operative Techniques and Medical Management by Ernesto P. Molmenti

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9781260474275

Publication Date: 2022-12-26

Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation provides a concise, visual approach to learning through hundreds of high-quality operative images and bulleted text--everything you need to successfully perform operations on and medically manage these vital organs. It covers every relevant topic, including ethics, complications, live and deceased donor evaluation, pharmacology, and anesthesia. Each chapter provides an overview of the essentials of kidney disease, pre- and post-operative patient management, operative techniques, pathology, and imaging.

DiSaia and Creasman Clinical Gynecologic Oncology, 10th edition by William T. Creasman (Editor); Robert S. Mannel (Editor); David G. Mutch (Editor); Krishnansu Tewari (Editor)

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9780323776844

Publication Date: 2022-10-05

The fully revised 10th Edition remains the most readable, most comprehensive text in the field. Under outstanding editorial leadership from Dr. William Creasman and featuring a "who's who" list of contributing authors, this authoritative reference is a must-have resource for improving outcomes and providing effective patient care.

Miller's Basics of Anesthesia, Eighth Edition by Manuel Pardo (Editor)

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9780323796774

Publication Date: 2022-10-17

Long regarded as the undisputed leading text of its kind, Miller’s Basics of Anesthesia provides comprehensive yet concise coverage of both basic science and clinical topics in anesthesiology. Under the experienced editorial leadership of Dr. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr., the 8th Edition has been meticulously updated to reflect the latest advances in practice and important aspects of contemporary anesthesia care, including pathophysiology, pharmacology, regional anesthesia, anesthetic management, and special problems and patient groups. It remains the first learning resource of choice for anesthesia providers, including anesthesia residents and fellows, medical students, and student registered nurse anesthetists, and is also a valuable review tool for practitioners undergoing maintenance of certification or recertification.

Medical Biochemistry, 6th edition by John W. Baynes (Editor); Marek H. Dominiczak (Editor)

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9780323834506

Publication Date: 2022-09-07

Medical Biochemistry, 6th Edition, offers a unique combination of research and clinical practice tailored to today's integrated courses. Covering clinically relevant topics in greater detail than other texts, this outstanding resource provides a strong overview of traditional areas in medical biochemistry along with state-of-the-art coverage of today’s latest developments. You’ll learn basic science concepts alongside clinical cases that describe patients likely to be encountered in clinical training, as well as how to use laboratory tests to diagnose and monitor the most important conditions. Thorough yet accessible, this clinically focused text is useful from medical school to clinical practice.

Textbook of Diagnostic Sonography, 9th edition by Sandra L. Hagen-Ansert

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9780323826464

Publication Date: 2022-10-21

Master sonographic examination protocols and techniques! The market-leading ultrasound text and reference, Textbook of Diagnostic Sonography, 9th Edition provides an in-depth understanding of general/abdominal and obstetric/gynecologic sonography. More than 3,100 ultrasound images and full-color anatomy illustrations help you recognize normal anatomy and abnormal pathology. Organized primarily by body system, coverage includes vascular sonography and echocardiography, and in the obstetrics section features a chronologic, trimester approach to ultrasound during pregnancy. Written by expert medical sonography educator and clinician Sandra L. Hagen-Ansert, this resource serves as ideal preparation for board exams and as a reference for practitioners in many different clinical settings.

Sims' Symptoms in the Mind: Textbook of Descriptive Psychopathology by Femi Oyebode

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9780702085253

Publication Date: 2022-10-13

Psychopathology – the study of abnormal mental states – is a foundational discipline of psychiatry that is formidable to master. Since 1988, Sims’ Symptoms in the Mind has been the leading introductory textbook in this area and provides the conceptual backbone needed by every psychiatrist in training. It defines and explains the main symptoms and syndromes of mental illness encountered in clinical practice. Now in its seventh edition, the text has been fully revised and updated by renowned psychiatry professor Femi Oyebode. It provides a masterful introduction to this difficult area that will challenge the reader intellectually, while at the same time supporting his or her learning. With a combination of accessible text and audiovisual materials in the online ebook, this is the standard postgraduate text for psychiatric trainees as well as a valued reference for academics, clinical psychiatrists and psychologists, allied health professionals, and researchers.

New Books and Updated Editions, October 3, 2022

10/17/2022

Kaci Resau

No Subjects

Featured New Titles & Updated Editions

The Only EKG Book You'll Ever Need by Malcolm S. Thaler

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9781975185831

Publication Date: 2022-09-09

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Ideal for readers at all levels of experience, the tenth edition of this straightforward, highly visual resource presents must-know information on using an EKG to diagnose cardiac and non-cardiac conditions, with numerous EKG strips, clear illustrations, clinical examples, and case studies throughout.

Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders, 2-Volume Set, Sixth Edition by Michael A. Grippi; Danielle E. Antin-Ozerkis; Charles S. Dela Cruz; Robert Kotloff; Camille N. Kotton; Allan I. Pack

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9781260473988

Publication Date: 2022-11-25

Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders delivers unparalleled coverage of pulmonary medicine. With 2,000+ photos and illustrations, 60 videos, and 18,000 references, this peerless two-volume resource provides a comprehensive overview of the scientific basis of lung function in healthy people and in those with disease.

Clinical Immunology by Robert R. Rich (Editor); Thomas A. Fleisher (Editor); Harry W. Schroeder Jr. (Editor); Cornelia M. Weyand (Editor); David B. Corry (Editor); Jennifer M. Puck (Editor)

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9780702081651

Publication Date: 2023-01-27

Clinical Immunology: Principles and Practice, 6th Edition, brings you up to date with every aspect of this fast-changing field. It examines the molecular, cellular, immunologic bases of immunologic diseases their broader systemic implications; and includes complete coverage of all common and less common disorders.

Clinical PET/MRI by Onofrio Antonio Catalano (Editor)

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9780323885379

Publication Date: 2022-09-07

Clinical PET/MR presents the state-of-the-art of PET/MR, guiding the reader from how to scan patients, how to read and report the studies, and how keep an eye on what is clinically relevant for a patient's care. Each chapter starts with the clinical scenario and then moves to pertinent imaging, addressing the need of a clinical PET/MR book written by world experts in both clinical and imaging fields.

Keratoconus by Luis Izquierdo (Editor); Maria Henriquez (Editor); Mark J. Mannis (Editor)

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9780323759786

Publication Date: 2022-09-28

From early diagnosis and intervention through the most up-to-date treatment approaches, this comprehensive reference covers the essential information needed by cornea fellows and specialists, general ophthalmologists and residents, and optometrists.

Litman's Basics of Pediatric Anesthesia by Ronald S. Litman (Editor); Aditee Ambardekar (Editor)

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9780323829021

Publication Date: 2022-09-07

Litman's Basics of Pediatric Anesthesia, 3rd Edition, provides a solid foundation of essential knowledge in this complex field. It covers everything from general pediatric physiology and pharmacology principles through important pediatric diseases; preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care; anesthesia for a full range of specific surgical procedures; pain management; and critical care.

Diffusion MRI of the Breast by Mami Iima (Editor); Savannah Partridge (Editor); Denis Le Bihan (Editor)

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9780323797023

Publication Date: 2022-09-30

Diffusion MRI of the Breast covers the knowledge necessary to undertake clinical breast DWI, with a thorough review of how DWI is currently used as a breast imaging modality and how breast lesions appear on DWI. Expert clinicians and physicists from around the world share their knowledge and expertise on everything from technical requirements and image analysis to clinical applications of DWI (diagnosis, prognosis, treatment monitoring) with case examples, and upcoming developments in the field (radiomics, AI).