New Books & Updated Editions - Levy Library Guides at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Featured New Titles & Updated Editions

Seeing Science by Marvin Heiferman; Scott Kelly (Foreword by)

Call Number: TR 692 S44 2019 (Print Book: Available in Levy Library)

ISBN: 9781597114479

Publication Date: 2019-05-29

Seeing Science offers an insightful and reader-friendly collection of essays and pictures about photography's role in visualizing science and building human knowledge-from micro to macro levels and everything in between.

Photography Changes Everything by Marvin Heiferman (Editor); Merry A. Foresta (Foreword by)

Call Number: TR 183 P487 2012 (Print Book: Available in Levy Library)

ISBN: 9781597111997

Publication Date: 2012-06-30

Photography Changes Everything-drawn from the online Smithsonian Photography Initiative-offers a provocative rethinking of photography's impact on our culture and our lives.

Change how you see, see how you change by Positive Exposure/Rick Guidotti

Call Number: HV3011 .P67 2017 (Print Book: Available in Levy Library)

Publication Date: 2017

Celebrating the beauty of human diversity through photography.

Test-Taking Strategies for the USMLE Step 2 Exam by Julia I. Reading

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9781264258758

Publication Date: 2023-02-03

Build the test-taking skills you need to ace your coursework and USMLE exams The very first resource of its kind, this innovative resource helps you build the skills specifically required to pass the first two years of coursework and the USMLE exams.

CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2023 by Jacob A. David

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9781264892228

Publication Date: 2022-11-18

The authoritative guidelines you need to diagnose and treat the most common outpatient conditions--updated with the latest research available for each guideline Concise yet comprehensive, CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2023 provides quick access to screening, prevention, and treatment guidelines for the most common outpatient conditions. Content is drawn from a wide array of recommendations from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific organizations.

Molmenti's Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation: Operative Techniques and Medical Management by Ernesto P. Molmenti

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9781260474275

Publication Date: 2022-12-26

Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation provides a concise, visual approach to learning through hundreds of high-quality operative images and bulleted text--everything you need to successfully perform operations on and medically manage these vital organs. It covers every relevant topic, including ethics, complications, live and deceased donor evaluation, pharmacology, and anesthesia. Each chapter provides an overview of the essentials of kidney disease, pre- and post-operative patient management, operative techniques, pathology, and imaging.

DiSaia and Creasman Clinical Gynecologic Oncology, 10th edition by William T. Creasman (Editor); Robert S. Mannel (Editor); David G. Mutch (Editor); Krishnansu Tewari (Editor)

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9780323776844

Publication Date: 2022-10-05

The fully revised 10th Edition remains the most readable, most comprehensive text in the field. Under outstanding editorial leadership from Dr. William Creasman and featuring a "who's who" list of contributing authors, this authoritative reference is a must-have resource for improving outcomes and providing effective patient care.

Miller's Basics of Anesthesia, Eighth Edition by Manuel Pardo (Editor)

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9780323796774

Publication Date: 2022-10-17

Long regarded as the undisputed leading text of its kind, Miller’s Basics of Anesthesia provides comprehensive yet concise coverage of both basic science and clinical topics in anesthesiology. Under the experienced editorial leadership of Dr. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr., the 8th Edition has been meticulously updated to reflect the latest advances in practice and important aspects of contemporary anesthesia care, including pathophysiology, pharmacology, regional anesthesia, anesthetic management, and special problems and patient groups. It remains the first learning resource of choice for anesthesia providers, including anesthesia residents and fellows, medical students, and student registered nurse anesthetists, and is also a valuable review tool for practitioners undergoing maintenance of certification or recertification.

Medical Biochemistry, 6th edition by John W. Baynes (Editor); Marek H. Dominiczak (Editor)

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9780323834506

Publication Date: 2022-09-07

Medical Biochemistry, 6th Edition, offers a unique combination of research and clinical practice tailored to today's integrated courses. Covering clinically relevant topics in greater detail than other texts, this outstanding resource provides a strong overview of traditional areas in medical biochemistry along with state-of-the-art coverage of today’s latest developments. You’ll learn basic science concepts alongside clinical cases that describe patients likely to be encountered in clinical training, as well as how to use laboratory tests to diagnose and monitor the most important conditions. Thorough yet accessible, this clinically focused text is useful from medical school to clinical practice.

Textbook of Diagnostic Sonography, 9th edition by Sandra L. Hagen-Ansert

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9780323826464

Publication Date: 2022-10-21

Master sonographic examination protocols and techniques! The market-leading ultrasound text and reference, Textbook of Diagnostic Sonography, 9th Edition provides an in-depth understanding of general/abdominal and obstetric/gynecologic sonography. More than 3,100 ultrasound images and full-color anatomy illustrations help you recognize normal anatomy and abnormal pathology. Organized primarily by body system, coverage includes vascular sonography and echocardiography, and in the obstetrics section features a chronologic, trimester approach to ultrasound during pregnancy. Written by expert medical sonography educator and clinician Sandra L. Hagen-Ansert, this resource serves as ideal preparation for board exams and as a reference for practitioners in many different clinical settings.

Sims' Symptoms in the Mind: Textbook of Descriptive Psychopathology by Femi Oyebode

Call Number: EBOOK

ISBN: 9780702085253

Publication Date: 2022-10-13

Psychopathology – the study of abnormal mental states – is a foundational discipline of psychiatry that is formidable to master. Since 1988, Sims’ Symptoms in the Mind has been the leading introductory textbook in this area and provides the conceptual backbone needed by every psychiatrist in training. It defines and explains the main symptoms and syndromes of mental illness encountered in clinical practice. Now in its seventh edition, the text has been fully revised and updated by renowned psychiatry professor Femi Oyebode. It provides a masterful introduction to this difficult area that will challenge the reader intellectually, while at the same time supporting his or her learning. With a combination of accessible text and audiovisual materials in the online ebook, this is the standard postgraduate text for psychiatric trainees as well as a valued reference for academics, clinical psychiatrists and psychologists, allied health professionals, and researchers.

Recent Posts

New Books and Updated Editions, May 23, 2024

Osborn's brain : imaging, pathology, and anatomy by Anne G. Osborn, Luke L. Linscott, & Karen L. Salzman Call Number: WL 301 OS81 2024 ISBN: 9780443109379 Publication Date: 2023-10-22 Combining informative, meticulously crafted prose with more than 4,000 high-quality images, Osborn's Brain, third edition, is a comprehensive, easy to understand, and visually stunning learning curriculum from highly esteemed author Dr. Anne G. Osborn. This fully revised edition provides a solid framework for understanding the complex subject of brain imaging, integrating relevant information from Dr. Osborn’s entire career of accumulated knowledge, experience, and interest in neuropathology, neurosurgery, and clinical neurosciences. While neuroradiologists will find intriguing, thought-provoking insights included especially for them in every chapter, Osborn’s Brain is an excellent review resource for physicians at all levels of expertise—from seasoned radiologists and neurosurgeons to new and senior residents or fellows. Scientific Due Diligence by Nathan Martinsberg Call Number: W 20.5 M386 2018 ISBN: 9781717537676 Publication Date: 2018-05-03 Many a blockbuster drug began in the mind of a single entrepreneur. From start-ups to spin-offs, there are no lack of options for a company or venture capitalist to license or invest into.But how can you know that this is the correct investment? The correct option to choose? The one which will lead to financial success and a nice end-of-year bonus?This is where scientific due diligence comes in, the independent, realistic and critical review of a potential technology. From early development data through to clinical study results, patents to competitor analysis, the due diligence process is essential for any investment decision.We have developed this handbook to guide investors and due diligence investigators through the minefield of scientific due diligence in the pharmaceutical world. It covers best-practice approaches, traps to avoid, and the most important areas to focus your limited time on.Investing in pharma? Then this is the book for you. NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses by T. Heather Herdman (Editor); Shigemi Kamitsuru (Editor); Camila Lopes (Editor) Call Number: WY 100.4 N176 2021 ISBN: 9781684204540 Publication Date: 2021-02-15 Fully updated and revised by editors T. Heather Herdman, Shigemi Kamitsuru, and Camila Takáo Lopes, NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses: Definitions and Classification, 2021-2023, 12th Edition is the definitive guide to nursing diagnoses, as reviewed and approved by the NANDA International (NANDA-I) Diagnosis Development Committee (DDC). In this new edition of a seminal text, the editors have revised all introductory chapters, providing critical information needed for nurses to understand assessment, its link to diagnosis and clinical reasoning, and the purpose and use of taxonomic structure for nurses at the bedside. Researchers will also find new recommendations to improve the terminology. Accessing Abortion in NYC : A Guide for Medical Students by Medical Students for Choice NYC. Call Number: EBOOK Publication Date: 2024 MSFC NY'S Accessing Abortion in NYC Educational Resource Guide written by medical students, for medical students and their peers. AHA hospital statistics : a comprehensive reference for analysis and comparison of hospital trends by American Hospital Association. Call Number: WX 16 A51 2024 ISBN: 9781556485039 Publication Date: 2024 Comprehensive reference source for analysis and comparison of trends within U.S. community hospitals. Contains aggregated state-level data of hospital trends in utilization and personnel, managed care contracts, and more for selected years from 1945-2022. Data comes from the AHA Annual Surveys of Hospitals and U.S. Census Bureau population data. Clinical Electrophysiology Review, Third Edition by George J. Klein; Eric N. Prystowsky Call Number: WG 330 K64 2024 ISBN: 9781264927654 Publication Date: 2023-12-01 A unique combination of case studies and workbook exercises helps you master the practice of measuring heart rhythm disorders Ideal for both practicing physicians, residents and fellows preparing for board exams, Clinical Electrophysiology Review, Third Edition serves partly as a case study guide and partly as a workbook to challenging studies in advanced electrodiagnostics. The book is filled with illustrations to help you recognize common rhythm disturbances and uncommon arrhythmias. This new edition includes 23 all-new cases on the surface ECG. Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology Examination & Board Review, Fourteenth Edition by Marieke Kruidering-Hall; Bertram G. Katzung; Rupa Lalchandani Tuan; Todd W. Vanderah; Anthony J. Trevor Call Number: EBOOK ISBN: 9781265084905 Publication Date: 2024-06-28 Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology Exam and Board Review covers all current drugs and antiretrovirals, immunologic agents, and chemotherapies. Edited by the world leading figures in pharmacology and medicine, the high-yield text focuses on basic principles, autonomic drugs, cardiovascular-renal drugs, and drugs with actions on smooth muscle, central nervous system drugs, and drugs used to treat chemotherapeutic drugs, and toxicology. This authoritative resource delivers a clear, concise review of fundamental concepts backed by more than 1,000 review questions and answers. Essentials of Clinical Nutrition in Healthcare by Ellizabeth Frates; Marie-France Hivert; Christopher Duggan Call Number: EBOOK ISBN: 9781264581887 Publication Date: 2024-07-05 Proven methods for diagnosing and managing nutritional changes in patients with chronic diseases and conditions Essentials of Clinical Nutrition in Healthcare fills the well-recognized evidence-practice gap between the nutrition knowledge, skills, and attitudes needed for nutrition care and the nutrition education provided by medical schools. Focusing on nutrition and dietetics, it walks you through the process of maintaining patients' energy balance while also providing sufficient nutrients, such as protein, vitamins, and minerals. Evidence-based chapters address the effects of diet on health and a comprehensive array of illnesses. Accelerating Diagnostics in a Time of Crisis by Steven C. Schachter (Editor); Wade E. Bolton (Editor) Call Number: EBOOK ISBN: 1009396986 Publication Date: 2024-03-07 Those who responded to the COVID-19 pandemic have now had the opportunity to reflect on lessons learned, and in this science and data-rich book, those reflections are presented as a behind-the-scenes chronology of events and discoveries that occurred in COVID-19's wake. Offering a rubric for a future pandemic response, each chapter is written by experts, with their unique perspectives, experience, and learnings woven into visual roadmaps throughout the book. These roadmaps serve as a scaffolding upon which future healthcare leaders can build when creating, implementing and executing operational strategies in the face of future infectious disease outbreaks. Written for both lay and scientific audiences and featuring case studies which give clinical insight into the unique bond between COVID patients, their loved ones and their healthcare providers, this important book allows readers to leverage the knowledge of experts to improve the outcomes of future pandemics. Non-Neoplastic Pathology of the Gastrointestinal Tract by Roger M. Feakins (Editor) Call Number: EBOOK ISBN: 1316823024 Publication Date: 2020-06-06 This book concisely summarises non-neoplastic gastrointestinal (GI) pathology and provides histopathologists aiming to refresh or expand their knowledge with a practical approach to the interpretation of biopsies. It focuses on GI biopsies, but also covers the pathology of resections and other organs where appropriate. The editor and contributors bring their expertise as practicing diagnostic pathologists across Europe and the US. Examples of topics include inflammatory bowel disease, infections, vascular disorders, and inflammatory conditions specific to various anatomical sites. Fact sheets, practice points and tables facilitate rapid assimilation of information and enhance the reader's experience, and with additional access to the full online version, including expandable images on Cambridge Core, achieve accuracy every time. High-quality illustrations are also numerous, and references are relevant and reliable. This book is a practical, readable and up-to-date asset for any pathologist encountering GI biopsies. ...

New Books and Updated Editions, January 18, 2024

Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology: a Guide to Clinical Infectious Disease, Eighteenth Edition by Peter Chin-Hong; Warren E. Levinson; Elizabeth A. Joyce; Jesse Nussbaum; Brian Schwartz; Mehrdad Matloubian; Luis Rubio Call Number: Ebook ISBN: 9781265126001 Publication Date: 2024-02-16 Ace your medical courses and pass the Boards with the most up-to-date review of medical microbiology and immunology! This trusted, popular guide provides a high-yield review of the most important aspects of microbiology and immunology in a concise yet comprehensive style. Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology covers both basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology. Important infectious diseases are discussed using an organ system approach. How the Immune System Works by Lauren M. Sompayrac Call Number: QW 504 SO697 2023 ISBN: 9781119890683 Publication Date: 2022-11-07 How the Immune System Works How the Immune System Works provides a concise and accessible overview of how the immune system protects us from disease. Written in a lively and engaging style, this unique book makes it easy to see the big picture of the immune system--without any confusing jargon or complex technical details. Now in its seventh edition, this popular book features an entirely new chapter that describes the role of the immune system in fighting COVID-19, as well as up-to-date information on vaccines, immunotherapies, immunological memory, cancer, and more. Irwin and Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine by Richard S. Irwin (Editor); Craig M. Lilly (Editor) Call Number: EBOOK ISBN: 1975181441 Publication Date: 2023-07-25 Covering both the theoretical and practical aspects of critical care,Irwin & Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine, Ninth Edition, provides state-of-the-art, evidence-based knowledge for specialty physicians and non-physicians practicing in the adult intensive care environment. Drs. Craig M. Lilly, Walter A. Boyle, and Richard S. Irwin, along with a team of expert contributing authors and education expert, William F. Kelly, offer authoritative, comprehensive guidance from an interprofessional, collaborative, educational, and scholarly perspective, encompassing all adult critical care specialties. Kaplan and Sadock's Concise Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry by Robert Boland; Marcia Verduin Call Number: EBOOK ISBN: 9781975167486 Publication Date: 2022-03-22 Succinct, authoritative, and affordable, Kaplan & Sadock's Concise Textbook of Psychiatry, 5th Edition, provides must-know information in clinical psychiatry from the names you trust. From cover to cover, it contains the most relevant clinical material from the bestselling Kaplan and Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry, 12th Edition, including the foundational chapters on assessment, the disorder specific chapters, and all of the treatment-specific chapters among other essential topics such as emergency psychiatry, ethics, and palliative/end-of-life care. Women's Health Across the Lifespan by Mary Beth O'Connell, Judith A. Smith, Laura M. Borgelt Call Number: Ebook ISBN: 9781265164225 Publication Date: 2024 Women’s Health Across the Lifespan: A Pharmacotherapeutic Approach serves as a comprehensive reference on sex and gender influences on medication response and presents the newest pharmacologic technologies to advance women’s health. This third edition of Women’s Health Across the Lifespan: A Pharmacotherapeutic Approach advances the conversation by providing physicians, pharmacists, nurses, students, and other health practitioners with an expansive review of health conditions disproportionately affecting women throughout life. It also presents recent advances in pharmacotherapeutic approaches to reproductive health, mental health, and reproductive cancers. MD Anderson surgical oncology manual by Barry W. Feig, Michael G. White Call Number: Ebook ISBN: 1975192613 Publication Date: 2023-02-24 Now with additional review content and a larger page size, The MD Anderson Surgical Oncology Manual, Seventh Edition, focuses on multidisciplinary, cooperative management approaches to issues confronting today’s surgical oncologist. Lead editor Dr. Barry W. Feig is joined by recently graduated surgical oncology fellows Michael G. White, Cameron E. Gaskill, Anai N. Kothari, and Sandra R. DiBrito to bring you comprehensive yet concise information on the complete range of oncologic considerations needed to effectively understand cancer and all aspects of its treatment. Operative Techniques in Surgery by Mary T. Hawn (Editor) Call Number: Ebook ISBN: 1975176464 Publication Date: 2022-12-30 With an emphasis on the "how and why" of contemporary surgery, Operative Techniques in Surgery, Second Edition, features concise, bulleted text, full-color illustrations, and intraoperative photographs to clarify exactly what to look for and how to proceed. Meticulously edited by Drs. Mary T. Hawn, Aurora D. Pryor, Steven J. Hughes, Daniel Albo, Michael S. Sabel, Kellie R. Brown and Amy J. Goldberg, this comprehensive, two-volume surgical atlas focuses on the steps of each technique, rapidly directing you to the information you need to choose the right approach for each patient, perform it successfully, and achieve the best possible results. Review of Radiologic Physics by William F. Sensakovic Call Number: Ebook ISBN: 9781975199043 Publication Date: 2023-10-12 Offering a complete review for radiology residents and radiologic technologists preparing for certification, Review of Radiologic Physics, 5th Edition, by Dr. William F. Sensakovic, is a high-yield, efficient resource for today's clinically focused exams. Now fully up to date, this edition covers x-ray production and interactions, projection and tomographic imaging, image quality, radiobiology, radiation protection, nuclear medicine, ultrasound, and magnetic resonance--all of the important physics information you need to understand the factors that improve or degrade image quality. Stocker and Dehner's Pediatric Pathology by Aliya N. Husain; Louis P. Dehner Call Number: Ebook ISBN: 1975144813 Publication Date: 2021-06-17 Virtually all aspects of the pathology in children are unique in pathogenesis and histogenesis from the moment of conception to adolescence whose range includes developmental anomalies to dysembryonic neoplasms. Stocker and Dehner's Pediatric Pathology provides encyclopedic but very usable coverage of this complex subspecialty, detailing all major aspects of the pathologic anatomy of childhood disorders ranging from chromosomal syndromes and infections to forensic pathology. Upholding the standard of excellence established in previous editions, this thoroughly updated Fifth Edition offers the in-depth, richly illustrated guidance you need to confidently evaluate and dependably report your findings. The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management by Calvin A. Brown (Editor) Call Number: Ebook ISBN: 1975190688 Publication Date: 2022-11-01 Long recognized as the gold standard emergency airway management textbook, The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management, Sixth Edition, remains the most trusted reference on this challenging topic. This practical reference, edited by Drs. Calvin A. Brown III, John C. Sakles, Nathan W. Mick, Jarrod M. Mosier, and Darren A. Braude, is the foundation text for these nationally recognized programs: The Difficult Airway Course: Emergency, The Difficult Airway Course: Critical Care, The Difficult Airway Course: EMS, and The Difficult Airway Course: Residency Edition. Its hands-on approach provides the concrete guidance you need to effectively respond wherever adult or pediatric airway emergencies may occur, including in and out of hospital settings, emergency departments, and urgent care centers. The Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics by Siri Ancha; Christine Auberle; Devin Cash; Mohit Harsh; John Hickman; Carole Kounga Call Number: Ebook ISBN: 1975190629 Publication Date: 2022-11-12 The Washington Manual® of Medical Therapeutics, 37th Edition, provides essential information you need for successful patient care, with concise, high-yield content that reflects today's fast-changing advances in medical technology and therapeutics. Written by faculty, residents, and fellows and edited by chief residents of the distinguished Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, the Washington Manual presents brief, logical approaches to diagnosis and management of commonly encountered medical conditions, including new therapies that improve patient outcomes. Wintrobe's Clinical Hematology by Robert T. Means; Daniel A. Arber; Bertil E. Glader; Frederick R. Appelbaum; George M. Rodgers; Angela Dispenzieri; Todd A. Fehniger; Laura C. Michaelis; John P. Leonard Call Number: Ebook ISBN: 9781975184698 Publication Date: 2023-07-21 Comprehensive in scope and thoroughly up to date, Wintrobe's Clinical Hematology, 15th Edition, combines the biology and pathophysiology of hematology as well as the diagnosis and treatment of commonly encountered hematological disorders. Editor-in-chief Dr. Robert T. Means, Jr., along with a team of expert section editors and contributing authors, provide authoritative, in-depth information on the biology and pathophysiology of lymphomas, leukemias, platelet destruction, and other hematological disorders as well as the procedures for diagnosing and treating them. Packed with more than 1,500 tables and figures throughout, this trusted text is an indispensable reference for hematologists, oncologists, residents, nurse practitioners, and pathologists. Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 16th Edition by Todd W. Vanderah Call Number: Ebook ISBN: 9781260463309 Publication Date: 2023-11-21 The most comprehensive and authoritative pharmacology text--updated with new content and USMLE-style questions Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, along with case studies that introduce clinical problems. ...

New Books and Updated Editions, December 22, 2023

Population-Based Nursing by Ann L. Curley Call Number: WY 108 C975 2020 ISBN: 9780826136732 Publication Date: 2019-09-28 In its third edition, Population-Based Nursing continues to be the only advanced practice nursing text to focus on core competencies in both epidemiology and population health. This comprehensive resource delivers essential content for doctoral nursing practice (as outlined by the AACN) and encompasses the many changes in health care that affect population-based nursing. It describes the role of the advanced practice nurse in identifying and mitigating health care disparities at the local, national, and global levels and provides guidance on how to conduct community assessments. A strong foundation in epidemiologic methodology is provided, including coverage of mortality measures, testing validity and reliability, study designs, risk and casualty assessment, and data analysis and interpretation. Graphic Public Health by Meredith Li-Vollmer Call Number: WA 17 L693 2022 ISBN: 9780271093253 Publication Date: 2022-06-07 As we confront the challenges of emerging diseases, environmental health threats, and gaps in health equity, medical professionals need versatile communication tools that help people make informed decisions and engage them in constructive conversations about the health of their communities. This book illuminates the power of comics to meet that need. Graphic Public Health demonstrates the range and potential of comics to address topics such as immunization promotion, outbreak prevention, gun violence, opioid addiction prevention, and climate change. It features the work of acclaimed cartoonists Ellen Forney, David Lasky, and Roberta Gregory, pieces by up-and-coming artists, and comics that Meredith Li-Vollmer produced as a communications specialist for Seattle's public health department. Clinical Research by Robert D. Toto (Editor); Michael J. McPhaul (Editor) Call Number: W 20.5 C641 2011 ISBN: 9781605477480 Publication Date: 2010-09-17 Clinical Research: From Proposal to Implementation will serve as a road map for students and junior researchers seeking to successfully design, implement, and publicize the results of clinical research. The book covers the basic elements of research proposals and implementation including regulatory approvals, continuing regulatory oversight, monitoring patient safety, recruitment, clinical assessments, laboratory assessments, provision of treatment, and on-going quality control. It familiarizes readers with the regulatory aspects of human research and the procedures involved in investigational new drug and device applications. Successful Collaboration in Healthcare by Colleen M. Stukenberg Call Number: W 80 S934s 2010 ISBN: 9781439812921 Publication Date: 2010-01-27 This critically acclaimed work makes the case for collaboration and shows that it can be greatly enhanced with conscious understanding and systematic effort. As the author points out, good healthcare is dependent on the right person performing the right role, which promotes excellent collaboration. And when people are allowed to function in their proper roles, job satisfaction increases, which in itself leads to better attitudes, which then leads to even deeper levels of collaboration and with it, the successful promotion of safe, quality care. Fostering Reflection and Providing Feedback by Jane Westberg; Hilliard Jason Call Number: W 18 W523f 2001 ISBN: 9780826114297 Publication Date: 2001-09-01 The authors of this concise volume describe the two underlying principles of becoming a thoughtful practitioner: reflection and feedback.They offer strategies to assist students in developing the attitudes and skills to think about and assess their work, consciously and consistently. Physicians, nurses, psychologists, social workers who are educators of students, residents and practitioners in the health professions will find this an invaluable resource. How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by Robert A. Day; Barbara Gastel Call Number: T11 .D33 2016 ISBN: 9781316640432 Publication Date: 2017-03-02 An essential guide for succeeding in today's competitive environment, this book provides beginning scientists and experienced researchers with practical advice on writing about their work and getting published. This brand new, updated edition also includes a new chapter on editing one's own work, a section on publicizing and archiving one's paper, and updates on authorship, including information on new authorship criteria and on the author identification number ORCID. The book guides readers through the processes involved in writing for and publishing in scientific journals, from choosing a suitable journal, to writing each part of the paper, to submitting the paper and responding to peer review, through checking the proofs. It covers ethical issues in scientific publishing, explains rights and permissions, and discusses writing grant proposals, giving presentations and writing for general audiences. Understanding Health Policy by Thomas S. Bodenheimer; Kevin Grumbach; Rachel Willard-Grace Call Number: EBOOK ISBN: 9781265905026 Publication Date: 2023-12-05 One of the most popular resources of its kind, Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach provides everything you need to master the U.S. health care system's nuances and complexities. Written by practicing primary care physicians who are experts in health care policy, this comprehensive guide covers the entire scope of the U.S. health care system and draws on lessons from systems in other nations. Clinical Neuroanatomy, 30th Edition by Stephen G. Waxman Call Number: EBOOK ISBN: 9781264583621 Publication Date: 2024-03-22 Engagingly written and extensively illustrated, Clinical Neuroanatomy provides an accessible synopsis of neuroanatomy and its functional and clinical implications. You'll learn everything you need to know about the structure and function of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves. This authoritative guide illustrates clinical presentations of disease processes involving specific structures, explores the relationship between neuroanatomy and neurology, and reviews advances in molecular and cellular biology and neuropharmacology as related to neuroanatomy. The book features case studies and hundreds of visual images, including CT and MRI scans, block diagrams showing muscle actions, root-by-root and nerve-by-nerve images of sensory areas and muscle intervention, and more. The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery by Pier Cristoforo Giulianotti; Enrico Benedetti; Alberto Mangano Call Number: EBOOK ISBN: 9781264257423 Publication Date: 2024-02-23 The first multimedia medical text of its kind--presenting the most comprehensive and up-to-date full-color material about robotics in General Surgery. Written by the senior editors with the contribution of international renowned robotic surgeons and academics, The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery shows how to apply robotics in multiple anatomical locations, using a comprehensive, concise and practical written description of each standardized surgical procedure. Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis and Treatment, Third Edition by Rose Hamm Call Number: EBOOK ISBN: 9781264923106 Publication Date: 2024-03-22 The acclaimed on-the-go wound care guide--offering the benefits of both a foundational textbook and a full-color Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis and Treatment delivers outstanding visual guidance and clear, step-by-step instruction on caring for patients with wounds. Packed with hundreds of full-color illustrations and clear, concise text, this unique learning tool provides thorough easy-to-understand coverage of evidence-based concepts of would treatment. Each chapter follows a similar design, with consistent headings, brief bulleted text, and numerous high-quality illustrations. 5-Minute Clinical Consult 2024 by Frank Domino Call Number: EBOOK ISBN: 9781975210731 Publication Date: 2023-06-20 Practical and highly organized, The 5-Minute Clinical Consult 2024 provides rapid access to the diagnosis, treatment, medications, follow-up, and associated conditions for more than 500 disease and condition topics to help you make accurate decisions at the point of care. Organized alphabetically by diagnosis, it presents brief, bulleted points in a templated format, and contains more than 100 diagnostic and therapeutic algorithms. Barash, Cullen, and Stoelting's Clinical Anesthesia: Print + EBook with Multimedia by Bruce F. Cullen (Editor); M. Christine Stock (Editor); Rafael Ortega (Editor); Sam R. Sharar (Editor); Natalie F. Holt (Editor); Christopher W. Connor (Editor); Naveen Nathan (Editor) Call Number: EBOOK ISBN: 1975199073 Publication Date: 2023-09-09 Covering the full spectrum of clinical issues and options in anesthesiology, Barash, Cullen, and Stoelting's Clinical Anesthesia, Ninth Edition, provides insightful coverage of pharmacology, physiology, co-existing diseases, and surgical procedures. This award-winning text delivers state-of-the-art content unparalleled in clarity and depth of coverage, as well robust multimedia features that equip you to effectively apply today's standards of care and make optimal clinical decisions on behalf of your patients. Cloherty and Stark's Manual of Neonatal Care by Anne R. Hansen; Ann R. Stark; Eric C. Eichenwald; Camilia R. Martin Call Number: EBOOK ISBN: 9781975159528 Publication Date: 2022-11-15 Practical, informative, and easy to read, Cloherty and Stark's Manual of Neonatal Care, 9th Edition, offers an up-to-date approach to the diagnosis and medical management of routine and complex conditions encountered in the newborn. Written by expert authors from major neonatology programs across the U.S. and edited by Drs. Eric C. Eichenwald, Anne R. Hansen, Camilia R. Martin, and Ann R. Stark, this popular manual has been fully updated to reflect recent advances in the field, providing NICU physicians, neonatal-perinatal fellows, residents, and neonatal nurse practitioners with quick access to key clinical information. Heptinstall's Pathology of the Kidney by J. Charles Jennette; Vivette D. D'Agati Call Number: EBOOK ISBN: 9781975161538 Publication Date: 2023-09-02 For nearly 60 years, Heptinstall's Pathology of the Kidney has been the reference of choice for both pathologists and nephrologists for expert, authoritative coverage of kidney disease. The fully revised and reorganized Eighth Edition, edited by Drs. J. Charles Jennette, Vivette D. D'Agati, Agnes B. Fogo, Volker Nickeleit and Michael Barry Stokes offers thorough pathologic descriptions, important clinical correlations, and up-to-date discussions of causes and pathogenesis to improve understanding of kidney disease and to facilitate accurate diagnosis and optimum care of patients with kidney disease. ...

New Books and Updated Editions, November 17, 2023

Clinical Handbook of Psychotropic Drugs for Children & Adolescents by Dean Elbe (Editor); Tyler R. Black (Editor); Ian R. McGrane (Editor); Sabina Choi (Editor) Call Number: Ebook ISBN: 9781616766252 Publication Date: 2023-04-24 The Clinical Handbook of Psychotropic Drugs for Children and Adolescents has become a standard reference and working tool for psychiatrists, pediatricians, psychologists, physicians, pharmacists, nurses, and other mental health professionals. Packed with unique, easy-to-read comparison charts and tables (dosages, side effects, pharmacokinetics, interactions) for a quick overview of treatment options. Succinct, bulleted information on all classes of medication: on- and off-label indications, side effects, interactions, pharmacodynamics, nursing implications, and much more - all you need to know for each class of drug. The Nature of Suffering and the Goals of Nursing by William E. Rosa (Editor); Betty R. Ferrell (Editor); Nessa Coyle (Preface by) Call Number: Ebook ISBN: 9780197667934 Publication Date: 2023-07-21 The Nature of Suffering and the Goals of Nursing is a pragmatic text assisting nurses at every career level through the challenges and rewards of their everyday duty to care. It advances the seminal work of Drs. Betty Ferrell and Nessa Coyle to give voice to the suffering of patients, their families, and their communities, as well as the suffering of nurses and other clinicians. This second edition has been updated in light of health and social care changes from the COVID-19 pandemic with a focus on the social determinants of health and increased visibility of marginalized populations across physical, mental, spiritual, emotional, ethical, cultural, and end-of-life domains to support whole-person and whole-people care. Resilience by Steven Southwick; Dennis S. Charney; Jonathan M. DePierro Call Number: Ebook ISBN: 9781009299749 Publication Date: 2023-09-07 Life presents us all with challenges. Most of us at some point will be struck by major traumas such as the sudden death of a loved one, a debilitating disease, or a natural disaster. What differentiates us is how we respond. In this important book, three experts in trauma and resilience answer key questions such as What helps people adapt to life's most challenging situations?, How can you build up your own resilience?, and What do we know about the science of resilience? Combining cutting-edge scientific research with the personal experiences of individuals who have survived some of the most traumatic events imaginable, including the COVID-19 pandemic, this book provides a practical resource that can be used time and time again. Care Work by Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha Call Number: EBOOK ISBN: 9781551527390 Publication Date: 2018-10-01 Leah Piepzna-Samarasinha is a poet and essayist whose most recent book, the memoir Dirty River, was a finalist for a Lambda Literary Award and the Publishing Triangle's Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction. She is also a long-time member of the disability justice movement, which advocates for the rights of the disabled. In her latest book of essays, Leah writes passionately and personally about disability justice, on subject such as the creation of care webs, collective access, and radically accessible spaces. She also imparts her own survivor skills and wisdom based on her years of activist work, empowering the disabled--in particular, those in queer and/or BIPOC communities--and granting them the necessary tools by which they can imagine a future where no one is left behind. Presently, disability justice and emotional/care work are buzzwords on many people's lips, and the disabled and sick are discovering new ways to build power within themselves and each other; at the same time, those powers remain at risk in this fragile political climate in which we find ourselves. Powerful and passionate, Care Work is a crucial and necessary call to arms. Disability Visibility by Alice Wong (Editor) Call Number: EBOOK ISBN: 9781984899439 Publication Date: 2020-06-30 A groundbreaking collection of first-person writing on the joys and challenges of the modern disability experience: Disability Visibility brings together the voices of activists, authors, lawyers, politicians, artists, and everyday people whose daily lives are, in the words of playwright Neil Marcus, "an art . . . an ingenious way to live." According to the last census, one in five people in the United States lives with a disability. Some are visible, some are hidden--but all are underrepresented in media and popular culture. Now, just in time for the thirtieth anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act, activist Alice Wong brings together an urgent, galvanizing collection of personal essays by contemporary disabled writers. There is Harriet McBryde Johnson's "Unspeakable Conversations," which describes her famous debate with Princeton philosopher Peter Singer over her own personhood. There is columnist s. e. smith's celebratory review of a work of theater by disabled performers. There are original pieces by up-and-coming authors like Keah Brown and Haben Girma. There are blog posts, manifestos, eulogies, and testimonies to Congress. Taken together, this anthology gives a glimpse of the vast richness and complexity of the disabled experience, highlighting the passions, talents, and everyday lives of this community. It invites readers to question their own assumptions and understandings. It celebrates and documents disability culture in the now. It looks to the future and past with hope and love. Margin Control Surgery of the Skin: Concepts, Histopathology, and Applications by Patrick Emanuel; Mark Izzard Call Number: WR 500 M328 2023 ISBN: 9781264285990 Publication Date: 2023-05-30 This first-of-its-kind multidisciplinary approach to margin control cutaneous surgery highlights practical concepts and provides copious illustrations and photos paired with text Outlining basic techniques for safe, effective surgery, Margin Control Surgery of the Skin explains how to handle common difficulties in completely excising common skin tumors, as well as more advanced cancers not usually dealt with by Mohs surgeons. The combination of illustrations, photographs, and concise text make complex topics easy to understand, and concepts are outlined in both traditional chapter format and case-based format so that practitioners will be engaged in a more practical context. Traditional chapters cover all technical aspects of the procedure and how these techniques are applied to the treatment of cutaneous malignancies. Un pájaro bajo la cama : historias médicas en Nueva York by Mendoza, Nuria Call Number: WZ 80.5.H8 M539 2023 ISBN: 9788412710007 Publication Date: 2023 Los relatos contenidos en 'Un pájaro bajo la cama' están inspirados en el trabajo de Nuria Mendoza como intérprete en hospitales de la ciudad de Nueva York. Se han cambiado nombres y lugar de procedencia, pero todas las historias tienen un núcleo real. Luego la escritura las ha convertido en otra cosa. En ficción, quizás. No tienen un principio, una trama y un final, sino que se mimetizan con la labor de la intérprete: «Es como llegar a la sala de cine con la película ya empezada. Te quedas allí un rato, conoces al personaje principal, te haces una idea del argumento y luego sales rodeada de oscuridad, a tientas, sin saber cómo acaba. On Being Included by Sara Ahmed Call Number: LC212.4 A398 2012 ISBN: 9780822352211 Publication Date: 2012-03-28 Sara Ahmed offers an account of the diversity world based on interviews with diversity practitioners in higher education, as well as her own experience of doing diversity work. Diversity is an ordinary, even unremarkable, feature of institutional life. Yet diversity practitioners often experience institutions as resistant to their work, as captured through their use of the metaphor of the "brick wall." On Being Included offers an explanation of this apparent paradox. It explores the gap between symbolic commitments to diversity and the experience of those who embody diversity. Commitments to diversity are understood as "non-performatives" that do not bring about what they name. The book provides an account of institutional whiteness and shows how racism can be obscured by the institutionalization of diversity. Diversity is used as evidence that institutions do not have a problem with racism. On Being Included offers a critique of what happens when diversity is offered as a solution. It also shows how diversity workers generate knowledge of institutions in attempting to transform them. Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry by Donald W. Black; Nancy C. Andreasen Call Number: WM 100 B627 2021 ISBN: 9781615373123 Publication Date: 2020-05-04 Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry dispels common misunderstandings and delves into what makes this such an exciting discipline. Now in its seventh edition, this bestselling guide is organized along the lines of DSM-5 and has been updated to reflect changes to the manual, including new medications and therapies. Rigorous in scope, Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry is nevertheless accessible and conversational in tone. It employs fascinating case vignettes, clinical pearls, self-assessment questions, and tables and figures as it offers a summary of: * The DSM-5 diagnostic system* The neurobiological basis of psychiatry* Interviewing and assessment--including specific questions that patients can be asked* The various psychiatric disorders* Legal issues* Psychiatric emergencies* Treatment Initially developed for medical students and beginning residents, this guide is also a valuable reference for nurse practitioners, physician assistants, social workers, and psychologists. And because it has been edited to align with the Pocket Guide to Psychiatric Practice, it makes an excellent companion piece to that volume, as well. The Handbook of Minimally-Invasive Colorectal Surgery by Nitin Mishra; Abdulaziz M. Saleem Call Number: EBOOK ISBN: 9781260142853 Publication Date: 2024-02-23 This well-illustrated new book delivers succinct guidance on performing minimally invasive (laparoscopic and robotic) colon and rectal surgery, written primarily for an audience of general surgery residents and fellows in colorectal surgery and surgical oncology. The Handbook of Minimally-Invasive Colorectal Surgery takes a high-yield, bulleted approach to describe how to get started with a procedure; how to perform common surgeries of the intestine, colon, and rectum; and how to manage common intraoperative problems in colorectal surgery. Alternatives to each step are discussed, along with common pitfalls and how to avoid them. Full-color illustrations and intraoperative images alongside narrated videos take readers step-by-step through the operations most often performed by general surgeons, colorectal surgeons, and surgical oncologists. This edition includes the latest innovations and procedures in minimally invasive and robotic colorectal surgery. The General Surgeon's Guide to Passing the Oral Boards by Shelby Reiter; Danielle Hayes Call Number: EBOOK ISBN: 9781265082857 Publication Date: 2024-03-08 A comprehensive, accessible study resource for the general surgery oral boards. Preparing for the American Board of Surgery certifying exam can be daunting. Based on the ACS curriculum outline, The General Surgeon's Guide to Passing the Oral Boards is an invaluable tool for maximizing your study time. The unique format makes this book optimal for quick referencing and self-study. The table of contents is broken down by organ system and surgical sub-specialties. Topics on the curriculum are categorized as either core or advanced. Each chapter begins with a list of topics. And each disease process is covered along with the relevant points of the history and physical, work-up, staging, treatment options, key surgical steps, and post-operative care. Designed as a tool to study for the oral boards, this is also an ideal quick reference guide for residents and practicing surgeons looking to brush up on procedural steps or the work up of complex conditions. CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2024 by Jacob A. David Call Number: EBOOK ISBN: 9781265690168 Publication Date: 2023-12-25 The authoritative guidelines primary care clinicians need to diagnose and treat the most common outpatient conditions--compiled, distilled, and updated for easy referencing. Striking the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity, this acclaimed annual resource presents all the latest evidence-based guidelines clinicians need to treat the most common outpatient conditions. The most thorough print compendium of guidelines for primary care practice, the book features content drawn from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific authorities. ...

New Books and Updated Editions, October 19, 2022

Featured New Titles & Updated Editions