Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Levy Library Blog

Collection Spotlight: Natural Medicines Database and Alternative and Complementary Resources

by Kerry McKee on 2021-03-16T11:38:00-04:00 in Education | Comments

 The Levy Library is excited to announce the newest addition to our collection, Natural Medicines & Supplements database (formally known as Natural Standard). Natural Medicines database includes daily updates to dietary supplements, natural medicines, and integrative therapies; and the Natural Medicines Brand Evidence-based Ratings system (NMBER®) for safety and effectiveness. Now, members of the Mount Sinai community can get access to  evidence-based natural medicines resources including: 

  • Interactive tools for safety, effectiveness and interactions
  • Over 1,400 natural medicine monographs
  • Easy-to-use, industry-leading NMBER® evidence-based rating system for 185,000+ commercial brand products
  • CE for condition/disease state clinical management using natural or alternative medicines

You can view an example of evidence-based monographs available from the database HERE

Access the Natural Medicines database through the library catalog HERE.


In addition to Natural Medicines, the Levy Library has access to several other great resources and tools for information on interaction checkers and alternative and complementary healthcare that we think you should check out:

 
Lexicomp

Lexicomp - Apps on Google PlayLexicomp is an integrated search platform for multiple drug databases including the Mount Sinai Formulary and Lexi-Drugs. Includes a drug interaction and compatibility tool as well as pricing information.Additional indexes cover pediatric and geriatric pharmacotherapy, pharmacogenomics, infectious diseases management, poisoning and toxicology, nuclear and biological chemical agent exposures, and laboratory tests and diagnostic procedures. Includes a drug interaction and compatibility tool and a drug identification tool. Provides generic drug availability and pricing information.

  • Lexicomp Online is available through the library catalog HERE.
  • The Lexicomp mobile app is available to download. learn more on how to access the app HERE

 

Alt HealthWatch

Health and Wellness – Libraries Linking IdahoAlt Healthwatch is a full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies. Subjects include acupuncture, aromatherapy, childbirth, Chinese medicine, chiropractic, creative therapies, cross-cultural therapies, energy medicine, herbalism, homeopathy, mind-body medicine, naturopathy, nutrition, osteopathy, and more​.

  • Alt HealthWatch is available through the library catalog HERE

 

Featured Journals in the Levy Library Collection

 

For help with finding other resources available from the Levy Library, contact us at refdesk@mssm.edu.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...