The Levy Library Blog

National Public Health Week - April 3-9

It's National Public Health Week! We are highlighting all things public health and thanking our Mount Sinai colleagues for all you do to keep New York City healthy.  We are here to support your learning and information needs!

National Public Health Week is an initiative of the American Public Health Association.  This year's theme is "Centering and Celebrating Cultures in Health" and each day of the week focuses on specific topics:

NPHW 2023 Daily Themes

Community (Monday)

Violence Prevention (Tuesday)

Reproductive and Sexual Health (Wednesday)

Mental Health (Thursday)

Rural Health (Friday)

Accessibility (Saturday)

Food and Nutrition (Sunday)

Public Health Collections and Resources at the Levy Library

The Levy Library has a robust collection of public health resources such as electronic and print books, literature databases, and interactive tools. 

• Check out our collection of Public Health journals using BrowZine
• Library staff developed a public health library guide to direct our learners to public health resources such as textbooks and websites
• Explore our curated collections on special topics
  • LGBTQ+
  • Race, Bias, & Society
  • Statistics & Data Analysis
  • Technology & Social Justice, and more!
• Select databases with public health collections
  • AccessMedicine Public Health Collection 
  • JSTOR Public Health Topic
  • LLW Health Library Medical Education, Epidemiology Collection 
  • ProQuest Healthcare Administration Database
  • ProQuest Health & Medical Collection
  • ProQuest Public Health Database 
• Interactive resource
  • GIDEON - Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network This link opens in a new window

    GIDEON is an interactive and frequently updated global infectious disease knowledge management tool that can be used for diagnosis and reference in the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology, and antimicrobial chemotherapy.

    

Public Health Expertise

Need assistance with searching the public health literature?  Visit the Library's Education & Research Services to submit a consultation request or submit a question via Ask A Librarian.  In addition to library databases, librarians can help to identify grey literature resources and find relevant public health topics in other subject databases (e.g. business, law, humanities).