Skip to main content

Library Education: Program and Faculty Support

How to Request

Faculty members, program managers and residency directors may request library instruction and course support focused on the resources and research skills of greatest interest to their students, residents, and other trainees. 

The Library Education and Research Services team welcomes you to:

  • Request an instruction session, either at the library or embedded in your course plan.
  • Request an online learning guide, module or webinar.
  • Meet with an instructor to design a fully-integrated instruction plan for your group.

Suggested Topics

Reference Management

EndNote x7

Discover what millions of researchers, scholarly writers, students and librarians already know about the power of EndNote to search online databases, organize references, images and PDFs. In this class, you will practice using EndNote X7 to collect, organize and maintain a 'library' of references, find and save full-text journal articles, and insert and format references in a MS Word document. The class will also cover searching and exporting citations from PubMed and Web of Science and syncing your desktop library with EndNote Online.

Zotero

 

Literature Searching

PubMed Searching from Basic to Advanced

In this class, you'll learn about the search engine which powers basic PubMed searching, allowing you to better understand your search results.  Then we'll move on to advanced search functionalities including filtering and sorting options, using the advanced search builder, and using the MeSH database to create a targeted search query.  We'll make sure you know how to connect to full-text of articles you discover in PubMed using Levy Library's Find It options and we'll discuss the advantages of registering for a My NCBI account.

Scopus & Web of Science - Introduction to Citation Indexes

In this case, you'll learn the fundamentals of Scopus and Web of Science, the two largest and most popular citation indexes.  These databases not only allow you to discover citations on a given topic by keyword searching, they also allow you to explore the relationship between citations including which articles have cited other articles and which articles on a given topic have been cited the most.  They further allow you to analyze citation data, exploring which authors, institutions and countries have published most frequently on a topic. We will also take a brief look a Google Scholar, who search results ranking algorithm takes not only relevancy but also citation count into considering when ranking search results.

Scientific Writing & Publishing

Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses

Introduction to Conducting a Systematic Review and/or Meta-Analysis

In this class we will review the steps involved in conducting a systematic review and/or meta-analysis, starting with determining whether the topic you have in mind is an appropriate topic for this type of study.  We will discuss resources and best practices in protocol development, search strategy, and screening results.  We will also discuss what tools and resources are available in the library and beyond to assist you in conducting a systematic review and/or meta-analysis.

Designing and Executing a Comprehensive Search Across Multiple Databases

Composing a search strategy for a systematic review is different than normal literature searching.  They key is to ensure that your search strategy is exhaustively comprehensive ensuring you won't miss any relevant articles without introducing superfluous search terms that will result in extra articles to screen that won't be relevant to your topic.  In this class we will review how to compile an exhaustive list of index terms and keywords, how to compose your search strategy in one database, and how to translate that search to the other databases you will need to search.  We will also help you identify an appropriate list of databases to search based on your topic.