Zotero @ Levy Library: Citing with Microsoft Word Plugin
Using the Zotero Word Plugin
Zotero allows you to automatically add citations and create bibliographies directly in your manuscript. Once you download Zotero and the Zotero Connector, Zotero will automatically connect to your word processor.
In Word, a Zotero tab will appear at the top of your document.
The Zotero tab in Word contains several different components:
Add/Edit Citation - Allows you to insert a citation where your cursor is or edit an existing citation.
Add/Edit Bibliography - Allows you to inset a bibliography where your cursor is or edit an existing bibliography.
Document Preferences - Opens your document preferences window to edit your citation style.
Refresh - Updates all citations and bibliography to reflect any metadata changes made in your library.
Unlink Citations - Disconnects your citations and bibliography from your Zotero library, preventing any further automatic updates. Note: this action is irreversible.
Inserting In-Text Citations
When you're ready to insert a citation into your Word document, place your cursor where you want it inserted and click "Add/Edit Citation".
You will be prompted to choose your citation style. Select the citation style you wish to use and click OK.
A Zotero search bar will appear. Start typing the title or author name in the search bar to find a particular reference. Once the citation you wish to insert shows up in the dropdown, select it and click "enter" to insert the citation directly into your Word document.
Inserting a Bibliography
You can insert your bibliography to the end of your document at any time. Place your cursor where you wish to insert your bibliography and click "Add/Edit Bibliography".
A bibliography will be created from the in-text citations that you previously inserted. If you continue to insert citations, the bibliography will automatically update to include them.