Pregnant While Black by
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 1506487610
Publication Date: 2023-04-11
Black women are three times more likely to die from pregnancy than their white peers. But Dr. Monique Rainford is working to better understand these disparities and do something about them. Pregnant While Black is a hopeful exploration of the issues pregnant Black women face in America.Within these pages, Dr. Rainford draws on over twenty years of experience working in obstetrics and gynecology to offer a primer on Black pregnancies and how to better care for them.
Under the Skin by
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780385544887
Publication Date: 2022-06-14
In Under the Skin, Linda Villarosa lays bare the forces in the American health-care system and in American society that cause Black people to "live sicker and die quicker" compared to their white counterparts. Today's medical texts and instruments still carry fallacious slavery-era assumptions that Black bodies are fundamentally different from white bodies. Study after study of medical settings show worse treatment and outcomes for Black patients. Black people live in dirtier, more polluted communities due to environmental racism and neglect from all levels of government. And, most powerfully, Villarosa describes the new understanding that coping with the daily scourge of racism ages Black people prematurely. Anchored by unforgettable human stories and offering incontrovertible proof, Under the Skin is dramatic, tragic, and necessary reading.
DSM-5-TR® Clinical Cases (2023) by
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781615373628
Publication Date: 2023
DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases clarifies and discusses psychiatric diagnosis with a particular focus on how diagnoses have evolved from DSM-5. Designed for teachers, students, and clinicians, this book presents a broad range of patient vignettes that cover the diagnostic waterfront. Each of the 104 cases is followed by a discussion by an expert clinician, who describes an approach to diagnosis through an exploration of psychiatric and personal history, symptom clusters, laboratory tests, and clinical ambiguities. The discussants also address the important ways in which diagnosis might be affected by such demographic issues as ethnicity, sexual orientation, and gender identity. The previous edition of this title, DSM-5® Clinical Cases, will remain live on PsychiatryOnline until August 2023.
The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Suicide Risk Assessment and Management, Third Edition by
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781615375288
Publication Date: 2023
Over the course of its two previous editions, The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Suicide Risk Assessment and Management has built a well-deserved reputation for thorough and authoritative coverage of this critically important topic. Now under fresh leadership, the third edition represents the new editors' cutting-edge vision while preserving the down-to-earth, accessible, and trustworthy style that has made the book a staple. This edition offers up-to-date perspectives on assessment and management of suicide risk in a reorganized and easy-to-use volume. In addition to core topics, such as understanding suicide risk in relation to major mental disorders such as depression, anxiety, and substance use, this revised edition includes chapters on physician-assisted dying, suicide and social media, suicide on college campuses, and other new and noteworthy content.
Oxford Textbook of Anaesthesia for Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Second Edition by
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 0192508083
Publication Date: 2022
Oral and maxillofacial surgery encompasses a wide range of procedures, treatments, and interventions for pathologies affecting the teeth, mouth, and jaw. To provide safe and effective care to this diverse and often challenging patient population, in a variety of clinical settings, requires an in-depth understanding of the specific challenges posed by this cohort, a comprehensive knowledge of the underlying pathologies and associated comorbidities, and an appreciation of the implications of a ‘shared airway’. This second edition of Anaesthesia for Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is an up-to-date resource for anaesthetists of all grades, maxillofacial surgeons, anaesthetic practitioners, anaesthetic nurses, recovery and intensive care nurses, and operating department practitioners involved in the management of these patients.
Oxford Textbook of Social Psychiatry by
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780198861478
Publication Date: 2022-11-15
Divided into eight sections, this resource covers an overview of the history and development of social psychiatry, as well as the social world of families, culture, and identity, focusing on key issues such as globalisation, pandemics, trauma, spirituality, and gender. Clinical conditions andspecial vulnerable groups are also explored, with topics such as the mental health of prisoners, somatisation, and eating disorders. Case studies of specific geographical locations provide a critical overview of global mental health today and the challenges faced in different setting, such as low-and middle-income countries.
Oxford Textbook of Heart Failure, Second Edition by
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780198766223
Publication Date: 2022-08-20
Taking the reader from an understanding of the basic mechanisms of heart failure through to an appreciation of the complexities of heart failure management and the remarkable improvements possible with good treatment, the Oxford Textbook of Heart Failure 2e covers all aspects necessary tomanage a patient with heart failure.In full colour throughout, containing over 300 illustrations, and supported by detailed referencing from the huge evidence base that has developed over the last two decades, the textbook also includes extensive chapters on common co-morbidities. The new edition has been completely updated in linewith new British and European Guidelines and contains new chapters on; Natriuretic Peptides and Novel Biomarkers in Heart Failure, The Future of Heart Failure, and Regenerative Therapies.Essential reading for consultant cardiologists and those in training, general physicians and those caring of the elderly, cardiothoracic surgeons, primary care doctors, pharmacists, and specialist nurses.
Oxford Textbook of Public Health Palliative Care by
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780198862994
Publication Date: 2022-07-30
Death, dying, loss, and care giving are not just medical issues, but societal ones.Palliative care has become increasingly professionalised, focused around symptom science. With this emphasis on minimizing the harms of physical, psychological, and spiritual stress, there has been a loss of how cultures and communities look after their dying, with the wider social experience of death often sidelined in the professionalisation and medicalisation of care. However, the people we know and love in the places we know and love make up what matters most for those undergoing the experiences of death, loss, and care giving.Over the last 25 years the theory, practice, research evidence base, and clinical applications have developed, generating widespread adoption of the principles of public health approaches to palliative care. The essential principles of prevention, harm reduction, early intervention, and health and wellbeing promotion can be applied to the universal experience of end of life, irrespective of disease or diagnosis. Compassionate communities have become a routine part of the strategy and service development in palliative care, both within the UK and internationally.The Oxford Textbook of Public Health Palliative Care provides a reframing of palliative care, bringing together the full scope of theory, practice, and evidence into one volume. Written by international leaders in the field, it provides the first truly comprehensive and authoritative textbook on the subject that will help to further inform developments in this growing specialty.
The Oxford Textbook of Palliative Social Work, Second Edition by
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780197537855
Publication Date: 2022-06-10
The Oxford Textbook of Palliative Social Work is a comprehensive, evidence-informed text that provides clinicians, researchers, policy-makers, and academics with a broad range of content to inform and enhance palliative social work practice. This definitive resource brings together an array ofmore than 150 international authors and is edited by three leading palliative social work pioneers to address the needs of professionals providing interprofessional, culturally sensitive, biopsychosocial-spiritual care for patients and families living with serious illness. Social workers fromdiverse settings will benefit from the historical perspective and international scope as well as the wealth of patient and family narratives.In keeping with the dynamic growth of the field over the last decade, this second edition offers a substantially deeper dive both conceptually and contextually into the more nuanced delivery of palliative social work. This edition includes additional chapters that reflect the increased integrationof palliative social work across populations, diagnoses, and settings. Each chapter has been extensively updated integrating current evidence, with a section specifically devoted to interventions for the purpose of affirming the scope of social work palliative practice. A new preface highlightsaspects of social-political inequity and injustice that informed the development, process, and ultimate content of this Text. International palliative social work practice is reflected by regional voices and highlighted by an exploration of the unique response to the COVID-19 pandemic as it evolvedin their respective countries. Professional issues explore topics of mentoring, supervision, advocacy, leadership, certification, legacy, and resilience.