- Levy Library
- Levy Library Guides
- Library Resources
- Icahn School of Medicine Course Materials
- Surgery-Anesthesiology Clerkship
Icahn School of Medicine Course Materials: Surgery-Anesthesiology Clerkship
Available in Print
Dr. Pestana's Surgery Notes by
Always study with the most up-to-date prep! Look for Dr. Pestana's Surgery Notes, Fourth Edition, ISBN 9781506235912, on sale October 2, 2018. Publisher's Note: Products purchased from third-party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entities included with the product.
Call Number: Levy Library Reserve Desk WO 18.2 P476 2017ISBN: 9781506208541Publication Date: 2017-04-04
Anesthesiology Cases, Questions, and Reviews
Anesthesia Student Survival Guide by
Edited and written by leading educators, this popular book for the anesthesiology rotation has been thoroughly updated and retains its distinctive case-based approach. The Second Edition features a thorough revision of the discussion of ventilator management, improved coverage of extubation criteria, and the latest guidelines and algorithms for preoperative assessment. Considerations for quality improvement and patient safety have been expanded throughout the book. Anesthesia Student Survival Guide provides a complete introduction to the specialty and is aimed at medical and nursing students as well as practitioners in critical care who seek a succinct overview of anesthesiology. From reviews of the First Edition: "...an excellent resource for the student wanting a deeper understanding of what is essentially a post-graduate subject, for example, an elective student." --British Journal of Anaesthesia "This is an excellent introduction to the specialty for third-year medical students, covering a broad range of material at a sufficient depth to be useful, and providing a good structure for a comprehensive course of self-directed study." --Doody's Review Service "The writing style is uniformly strong, which makes the book easy to read....[It] serves not only as an excellent resource for students and other learners seeking an introduction to anesthesia but also as a platform for teaching the basics. It will be a welcome addition to the libraries of teaching departments." --Canadian Journal of Anesthesia
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9783319110837Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Case Files Anesthesiology by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Learn the fundamentals of anesthesiology in the context of real patients. 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "The book targets medical students, but even junior anesthesia trainees would find it very compelling....Although it has the appearance of a handbook, this book is an overview of clinical anesthesiology. It takes a simulation approach to drive home essential concepts of anesthesia management in different disease conditions. Of all the handy books out there, this is perhaps the only one that teaches anesthesia inthe context of real patients rather than merely stating facts. It would be an invaluable aid to medical students doing anesthesia clerkships or junior anesthesia trainees who need a quick review for an emergency case in the middle of the night."--Doody's Review Service Case Files: Anesthesiology contains 53 high-yield cases with open-ended questions. Each case includes an extended discussion, definitions, clinical Pearls, 3-5 USMLE-style comprehension questions, and references to the most current literature for further reading. Features: 53 high-yield clinical situations tailored for management of the anesthetic patient Clear and easy-to-follow case-based format helps readers develop clinical thinking skills Clinical pearls give evidence-based recommendations for patient management USMLE-style comprehension questions accompany each case Content enhanced by numerous tables, illustrations, and clinical images Content that makes learning easy: Preoperative evaluation:Preoperative evaluation: cardiac and pulmonary disease,Preoperative evaluation in an obese patient, Anesthesia in Patients with Heart Disease:Coronary artery disease,Pulmonary hypertension, R heart failure,Left Heart failure,Mitral stenosis, mitral insufficiency,Aortic stenosis,Subacute Aortic Hypertrophy,Congestive heart failure,AICD,Abdominal aortic aneurysm/stint, openCardiac tamponade,Protamine reaction Anesthesia for the Patient with Pulmonary Disease:Anesthesia in a patient with reactive airway disease,Anesthesia in a patient with COPD,Thoracotomy,Aspiration, Anesthesia for the Patient with Neurological or Neurosurgical Conditions:Subdural hematoma/head injury,Crainotomy for mass excision,Crainotomy for aneurysm,The quadriplegic,Cervical fracture,Myasthenia gravis,Anesthesia for obstetrics:For caeserian section,Appendectomy or cholecystectomy in a pregnant patient,Total spinal,Local anesthetic toxicity, Anesthesia in the Pediatric Patient:Child with a Foreign Body,Cleft Palate,Anesthesia for a tonsillectomy--sleep apnea, and hemorrhage,Pyloric stenosis, Anesthesia in Patients with Hematologic Disorders:Hemaglobinapathy,Transfusion reaction,Coagulopathies, Anesthesia for Patients with Endocrinologic or Metabolic Disorders:Diabetes--hyperglycemia/hypoglycemia,Malignant hypertension/pheochromocytoma,Malignant hyperthermia,Cholinesterase deficiency, Anesthesia Special Situations:Complication of laporoscopy--ptx, air embolism,Complication of laporoscopy--occult hemorrhage, Burns,Trauma,MRI,Hypoxia of unknown etiology (equipment failure),Monitoring (including PA line, TEE),Awareness under anesthesia,End of life/ethics
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780071606394Publication Date: 2010-10-14
Anesthesiology Textbooks and Handbooks
Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 6th Edition by
This trusted classic delivers comprehensive coverage of the field's must-know basic science and clinical topics in a clear, easy-to-understand presentation. At the same time it has retained its value for coursework, review, or as a clinical refresher. This Sixth Edition has been extensively revised to reflect a greater emphasis on critical care medicine, enhanced recovery, and ultrasound in anesthesia practice.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781259834424Publication Date: 2018-08-21
Miller's Anesthesia, 2-Volume Set by
Covering everything from historical and international perspectives to basic science and current clinical practice, Miller's Anesthesia, 9th Edition, remains the preeminent reference in the field. Dr. Michael Gropper leads a team of global experts who bring you the most up-to-date information available on the technical, scientific, and clinical issues you face each day - whether you're preparing for the boards, studying for recertification, or managing a challenging patient care situation in your practice. Contains fully revised and updated content throughout, including numerous new videos online. Includes four new chapters: Clinical Care in Extreme Environments: High Pressure, Immersion, and Hypo- and Hyperthermia; Immediate and Long-Term Complications; Clinical Research; and Interpreting the Medical Literature. Addresses timely topics such as neurotoxicity, palliation, and sleep/wake disorders. Streamlines several topics into single chapters with fresh perspectives from new authors, making the material more readable and actionable. Features the knowledge and expertise of former lead editor Dr. Ronald Miller, as well as new editor Dr. Kate Leslie of the University of Melbourne and Royal Melbourne Hospital. Provides state-of-the-art coverage of anesthetic drugs, guidelines for anesthetic practice and patient safety, new techniques, step-by-step instructions for patient management, the unique needs of pediatric patients, and much more - all highlighted by more than 1,500 full-color illustrations for enhanced visual clarity. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices, in addition to accessing regular updates, related websites, and an expanded collection of procedural videos. The initial printing of Miller's Anesthesia, 9e contained a dosage error in chapter 26, "Intravenous Drug Delivery Systems," on page 771, Table 26.5 (Manual Infusion Schemes). A maintenance infusion of Dexmedetomidine was mistakenly reported as 0.3 - 0.7 mcg/kg/min instead of 0.3 - 0.7 mcg/kg/hr (or 0.005-0.015 mcg/kg/min). As of October 2, 2020 all stock has been corrected. If you find that you have a book with this error please contact publisher for correction sticker.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780323596046Publication Date: 2019-10-14
Surgery Cases, Questions and Reviews
Blueprints Surgery by
Part of the Blueprints series, Blueprints Surgery provides a concise review of what students need to know in their surgery rotations or the Boards. Each chapter is brief and includes pedagogical features such as bolded key words, tables, figures, and key points boxes. This edition has been thoroughly updated and significantly expanded, with more detail and depth of coverage, additional tables and figures, and case studies. A question-and-answer section at the end of the book includes 100 board-format questions with complete rationales for each answer choice. A companion website includes a question bank containing an additional 50 questions and fully searchable text.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780781788687Publication Date: 2009-01-12
Case Files® Surgery, Fifth Edition by
**NOTE: You'll need to create a personal account to use this resource.** Case Files®: Surgery provides 60 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in surgery. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and USMLE®-style review questions to reinforce your learning. With Case Files®, you'll learn instead of memorize.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781259585227Publication Date: 2016
First Aid for the Surgery Clerkship, Third Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. THE COMPLETE GUIDE TO EXCELLING ON THE SURGERY CLERKSHIP AND IMPRESSING ON THE WARDS - NOW IN FULL COLOR! Detailed what-to-study and what-you-must-know advice from clerkship veterans prepares you for success! * Completely updated content with emphasis on what you must know to earn honors on the shelf exam and standout during rounds * Score-boosting opening section devoted to maximizing your performance on the Surgery Clerkship * Frequently tested high-yield facts and mnemonics maximize your study time * "Ward Tips" prepare you for common "pimp" questions * Integrated flashcards offer a fun, fast way to review
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780071842099Publication Date: 2016-10-27
NMS Surgery by
Concise coverage, an online interactive student quiz bank, new text features, and USMLE-format questions enable students to successfully complete their clerkship, prepare for the shelf/end-of-rotation exam, and study for the boards.The perfect study tool for surgical shelf or end-of-rotation exams, and board certification and recertification.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781608315840Publication Date: 2015-07-25
NMS Surgery Casebook by
Ideal as a stand-alone review or as a companion to NMS Surgery , this highly practical casebook presents a series of surgical cases that begin with a clinical scenario and progress step by step through the decision-making process of patient management. It offers medical students a structured subject review, practice questions to prepare for the USMLE Step 2 exam, and an opportunity to work through clinical cases with a unique "what next" approach to decision making. Updates include a new two-color design, "Deep Thoughts" and "Quick Cuts" text features that clearly call out high-yield information in every chapter, and an all-new chapter on pediatrics covering common congenital anomalies. Clinical images and illustrations offer the opportunity to detect visual clues, and the new pocket-sized format makes it easy to carry and study anytime, anywhere. In addition, this title is packaged with access to the interactive eBook version at no additional cost! Provides an excellent review for exams and an opportunity to practice real-world clinical decision making. Features a new, two-color design and a handy new pocket-sized format. Emphasizes high-yield information with easy-to-spot "Deep Thoughts" and "Quick Cuts" boxes throughout. Contains a new pediatrics chapter that brings you up to date with common congenital anomalies. Includes case variations so you can consider patients with complications or co-existing conditions. Uses an extensive illustration program that provides opportunities to make patient management decisions based on visual cues. The perfect companion to Jarrell's NMS Surgery, 6th Edition.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781608315864Publication Date: 2015-07-16
Step-Up to Surgery by
Step-Up to Surgery is an effective high-yield review of general and subspecialty surgery, written specifically for medical, physician assistant, and nurse practitioner students in their surgery clerkship/rotation. Step-Up to Surgery packs clinical pearls, illustrations, and "Quick Hits" in a single, ingenious tool, tailoring each element for immediate content absorption and faster, more efficient review.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781451187632Publication Date: 2014-04-26
Surgery: A Case Based Clinical Review by
Surgery: A Case Based Clinical Review has proven to be the premiere resource to help prepare medical students for the surgical shelf exam and clinical wards. The second edition was conceived after listening to the feedback we received from students. We have added several new chapters and updated the others. This book continues to provide the reader with a comprehensive understanding of surgical diseases in one easy-to-use reference that combines multiple teaching formats. The book begins using a case based approach. The cases presented cover the diseases most commonly encountered on a surgical rotation. The cases are followed by a series of short questions and answers, designed to provide further understanding of the important aspects of the history, physical examination, differential diagnosis, diagnostic work-up and management, and questions that may arise on surgical rounds and on the shelf exam. The book is written in an easy-to-understand manner to help reinforce important surgical exam concepts. The second edition of Surgery: A Case Based Clinical Review will be of great utility for medical students when they rotate on surgery, as well as interns, physician assistant students, nursing students, and nurse practitioner students.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9783030053864Publication Date: 2019-10-29
Surgery PreTest Self-Assessment and Review, Thirteenth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The closest you can get to seeing the USMLE Step 2 CK without actually taking it Surgery: PreTest Self-Assessment & Review is the perfect way to assess your knowledge of surgery for the USMLE Step 2 CK and shelf exams. You'll find 500 USMLE-style questions and answers that address the clerkship's core competencies along with detailed explanations of both correct and incorrect answers. All questions have been reviewed by students who recently passed the boards and completed their clerkship to ensure they match the style and difficulty level of the exam. 500 USMLE-style questions and answers Detailed explanations for right and wrong answers Targets what you really need to know for exam success Student tested and reviewed
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780071761215Publication Date: 2012-03-30
Surgical Recall by
Written in a rapid-fire question-and-answer format, Surgical Recall is a best-selling, high-yield reference for clerkship students. Covering both general surgery and surgical subspecialties, this portable resource provides accurate, on-the-spot answers to the questions you're most likely to encounter during your rotations and on the shelf exam . The eighth edition--now in full color--distills the content even further to give you exactly what you need: survival tactics and tips for success, key information for those new to the surgical suite, and expanded opportunities for self-assessment in a variety of formats. Strategic two-column format provides chapter content in the form of questions on the left and answers on the right to facilitate quick, effective review. Brand-new Rapid-Fire Reviews at the end of most chapters let you test your knowledge of chapter content, and also help you get familiar with finding the words that are key to unraveling clinical vignettes throughout the book. Detailed color illustrations enhance understanding. Surgical Overview and Background sections are packed with practical advice and tricks of the trade. Hundreds of mnemonics, acronyms, tips, prompts, and hints help you master and retain essential knowledge. Concise procedure descriptions and relevant anatomy prepare you to serve as an active participant in the operating suite. All-new pre- and post-book tests show you what areas to study and then how well you have mastered them.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781496370815Publication Date: 2017-12-20
Lange Q&a Surgery, Fifth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The comprehensive review of surgery that students need to pass the USMLE Step 2 and the surgery shelf exam. A Doody's Core Title! 3 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW "This compares quite favorably with other review manuals. Despite the comprehensive subject coverage, the manual is both portable and affordable. The rapid changes in surgical knowledge, as well as changes in exam question format, make a new edition quite welcome."--Doody's Review Service With 1000 USMLE-format surgery questions and answers, each with thorough explanations, and a bonus practice test, this resource provides an unmatched review of surgery. Students will find everything they need to ace the USMLE Step 2 and the surgery shelf exam.
Call Number: Available at the Levy Library Reserve Desk WO 18.2 L269 2007 [PRINT]ISBN: 9780071475662Publication Date: 2007-06-11
Surgery PreTest Self-Assessment and Review, Fourteenth Edition by
The closest students can get to seeing the USMLE Step 2 CK without actually taking it Surgery: PreTest Self-Assessment & Review is the perfect way for students to assess their knowledge of surgery for the USMLE Step 2 CK and shelf exams. It includes 500 USMLE-style questions and answers that address the clerkship's core competencies along with detailed explanations of both correct and incorrect answers. Readers will find vignette-style questions and updates on the latest surgical techniques. All questions have been reviewed by students who recently passed the boards and completed their clerkship to ensure they match the style and difficulty level of the exam. *500 USMLE-style questions and answers *Detailed explanations for right and wrong answers *Targets what you really need to know for exam success *Thoroughly reviewed by students who aced their clerkship *Targets all the topics students must know for clerkship success *Answers are referenced to leading textbooks and journal articles
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781260143614Publication Date: 2020-01-03
Surgery Textbooks and Handbooks
Top Picks
The Surgical Review by
Make the most of your study time preparing for the American Board of Surgery In-Training Examination (ABSITE), written boards, and certification! The 4th Edition of The Surgical Review is a concise yet comprehensive review tool that keeps you up to date with surgical practice and current exams. Short, to-the-point chapters highlight all of the basic science and clinical science you need to know to perform at your best and improve your test scores. Every chapter is co-authored by a resident and an attending physician at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, and the table of contents is organized to match the current exam.Key Features More than 300 full-color illustrations complement the text, improve retention of key concepts, and facilitate quick review. Key Points located at the beginning of each chapter for a rapid overview or last-minute reference now target both junior residents and senior residents, with specific information for each. Thoroughly updated throughout , including new information on endovascular therapies. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781451193329Publication Date: 2015-09-24
Essentials of General Surgery and Surgical Specialties by
Now combining general surgery and the specialties in one volume, this Sixth Edition of Essentials of General Surgery and Surgical Specialties focuses on the information all medical students need to know to pass the NBME surgery shelf or other surgery rotation examinations. This new edition of Lawrence's popular text offers concise, high-yield content and a smaller format ideal for study on the go. Updated to reflect the latest advances in the field, it provides the authoritative, up-to-date content today's busy medical students need for exam success. Includes general surgery and surgical specialties all in one volume Offers authoritative information by leading surgery educators Provides five in-book practice questions per chapter, with additional questions online Practice questions include answers and references to the area within the text where the topics are covered Focuses on high-yield information for quick reference Offers an array of online resources for both students and faculty eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781496351043Publication Date: 2018-12-06
Surgery: An Introductory Guide for Medical Students by
The operating room can be an intimidating place for medical students. Preparing to scrub in on a case requires pulling together information from multiple sources on anatomy, pathology, physiology, yet none truly fit the needs of the surgical student. Surgery: An Introductory Guide for Medical Students 2nd Edition, written expressly for students, fills this void by providing an all-in-one reference in a unified, concise, and portable format.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9783030650735Publication Date: 2021-03-13
Additional Texts
ACS Surgery 7 by
ACS Surgery provides best surgical practices recommended by over 200 leading surgeons, under the sponsorship of the American College of Surgeons. Richly illustrated, with over 1200 full-colour diagrams, photos, and illustrations that clarify complex processes and procedures. Over 100 algorithms offer step-by-step diagnostic and management strategies in a practical manner. New to the seventh edition are: Expanded care in special situations section: New chapters, including urologic considerations for the general surgeon; gynaecologic considerations for the general surgeon; transplantation for the general surgeon; plastic surgery considerations for the general surgeon. New scientific foundations section: New chapters, including evidence-based medicine; technical aspects of laparoscopic surgery; principles of cancer treatment; coagulation disorders; management of chronic wounds. Updated coverage of topics relating to breast, abdominal pain, intestinal obstruction, gastrointestinal bleeding, bariatric procedures, and many others. Contents include: Competency-Based Surgical Care. Basic Surgical and Perioperative Considerations. Head and Neck. Breast, Skin, and Soft Tissue. The Thorax. Gastrointestinal Tract and Abdomen. Vascular System. FREE: Three months' access to ACS Surgery Online with each book purchase. See the inside front cover for instructions regarding free access. ACS Surgery Online is updated monthly with new and revised chapters, and offers quick electronic searches, and a convenient CME program of up to 60 Category 1 credits. The ACS Surgery Online CME programme allows you to easily meet the Maintenance of Certification requirements of the American Board of Surgery.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780615859743Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Surgery, 15th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Evidence-based, point-of-care information on the full scope of surgical diseases CURRENT Diagnosis& Treatment Surgery delivers to-the-point information on more than 1,000 diseases and disorders that surgeons are most often required to treat. Concise yet thorough,the book covers both general surgery and the surgical subspecialties, including neurosurgery, otolaryngology, plastic and reconstructive surgery, gynecology, orthopedic surgery, urology, and pediatric surgery. This Fifteenth Edition has been updated throughout to reflect the latest research and discoveries. The consistent presentation, headings, and accessible text makes it easy to find answers quickly. * An outstanding review for the USMLE and shelf examinations * The best introductory text to the field of surgery * More than 600 photographs and illustrations * Detailed treatment algorithms * Updated throughout with the latest research and discoveries * Intuitively organized to help you find answers quickly and easily * More than 200 chapter review multiple choice questions
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781260122213Publication Date: 2020-04-16
Mulholland and Greenfield's Surgery by
Newly streamlined and focused on quick-access, easy-to-digest content, Mulholland and Greenfield's Surgery: Scientific Principles & Practice, 7th Edition, remains an invaluable resource for today's residents and practicing surgeons. This gold standard text balances scientific advances with clinical practice, reflecting rapid changes, new technologies, and innovative techniques in today's surgical care. New lead editor Dr. Justin Dimick and a team of expert editors and contributing authors bring a fresh perspective and vision to this classic reference. Presents the science that underpins the practice of surgery alongside practical clinical content. Features newly streamlined and condensed information with a clear, concise focus, as well as additional tables, procedural summaries of key steps, and pearls and pitfalls throughout. Covers general scientific principles such as inflammation, shock, nutrition, pain management, and much more, followed by surgical practice chapters arranged by organ system. Contains 2,100 full-color illustrations, anatomic drawings, and intraoperative photographs that visually support the text and make complex concepts easier to grasp. Chapters begin with Key Points and decision-making algorithms are listed in the front of the book for quick reference. eBook version features over 40 "Morbidity and Mortality" case discussions and an Interactive Question Bank with nearly 900 questions.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781975143169Publication Date: 2021-07-07
Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations, 10th ed. by
The classic step-by-step atlas for learning how to perform the most common surgical procedures using safe, well-established techniques. Contains beautifully rendered line drawings with color highlights that depict every important action a surgeon must consider.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780071797559Publication Date: 2016- Surgery An Introductory Guide by
The operating room can be an intimidating place for medical students. Preparing to scrub in on a case requires pulling together information from multiple sources on anatomy, pathology, physiology, yet none truly fit the needs of the surgical student. Surgery: An Introductory Guide for Medical Students 2nd Edition, written expressly for students, fills this void by providing an all-in-one reference in a unified, concise, and portable format. The operations covered represent the breadth of general surgery. Each chapter provides focused information on the pathophysiology relevant to the corresponding procedure. The main steps of each case are described, allowing the student to follow along and interact with the surgical team. A color diagram of the operative field from the vantage point of the surgeon accompanies every chapter. Radiologic imaging highlighting key findings are provided. The most common post-operative complications and their clinical presentation are also detailed. Each chapter concludes with a description of a classic patient case, a list of top questions likely to be posed to students, and an essential knowledge checklist. Written by Dr. Sarpel, a general surgery residency program director with multiple teaching awards, Surgery: An Introductory Guide for Medical Students 2nd Edition provides the critical content students need to succeed in their surgical clerkship.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9783030650735Publication Date: 2021-03-13
- Surgery by
Surgery: A Case Based Clinical Review has proven to be the premiere resource to help prepare medical students for the surgical shelf exam and clinical wards. The second edition was conceived after listening to the feedback we received from students. We have added several new chapters and updated the others. This book continues to provide the reader with a comprehensive understanding of surgical diseases in one easy-to-use reference that combines multiple teaching formats. The book begins using a case based approach. The cases presented cover the diseases most commonly encountered on a surgical rotation. The cases are followed by a series of short questions and answers, designed to provide further understanding of the important aspects of the history, physical examination, differential diagnosis, diagnostic work-up and management, and questions that may arise on surgical rounds and on the shelf exam. The book is written in an easy-to-understand manner to help reinforce important surgical exam concepts. The second edition of Surgery: A Case Based Clinical Review will be of great utility for medical students when they rotate on surgery, as well as interns, physician assistant students, nursing students, and nurse practitioner students.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9783030053864Publication Date: 2019-10-29
Related Resources
- Access Surgery This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
AccessSurgery is an integrated surgical resource organized around the ACGME's mandate for a core curriculum. Content includes: surgical videos and animations; textbooks such as Schwartz's Principles of Surgery, Maingot's Abdominal Operations, and Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations; self-assessment and board review materials and more.
Access Mobile App activation instructions:
1. On a desktop or mobile browser, navigate to AccessMedicine homepage while on the Mount Sinai network.
2. Select the ISMMS button in the upper right corner of the page and choose 'Sign in or Create a Free Access Profile from the drop down.
3. Either sign in or Create a free MyAccess Profile. Use your Mount Sinai institutional email address to ensure your account can be verified.
4. Once you create an account, download and install the app on your mobile device. *The app is not yet optimized for viewing on iPad or tablet*
5. After installing, you will be prompted to sign in with your Access profile credentials.
6. If you downloaded the app first, you will automatically be validated once you are on-site or connected via VPN.
NOTE:
You will need to re-authenticate to your Mount Sinai subscription every 90 days. To do this, you will visit the library website while on-site or using VPN. You will receive an in-app reminder when you need to reconnect to the subscription.
