School Header Page

Levy Library Blog

Get to Know Dynamic Health: Transitioning from NRC+ on October 15, 2025

10/14/2025

Gloria Willson

Evidence Based Practice, Nursing & Allied Health, Library News

Decorative Banner that says Dynamic Health is replacing Nursing Reference Center Plus on October 15

Beginning October 15, 2025, the Mount Sinai Health System will transition from Nursing Reference Center Plus (NRC+) to Dynamic Health CDS + Skills—an innovative, evidence-based resource designed to help nurses and health professionals strengthen learning, critical thinking, and confidence at the point of care.

Dynamic Health builds on the trusted foundation of NRC+ with a more interactive design, expanded clinical coverage, and enhanced tools for professional growth. The platform offers continuing education modules, patient education handouts, care plans, leadership and management topics, quick lessons, videos, cultural competence resources, and test and lab summaries—all in one place.

To learn more about how Dynamic Health supports nursing and allied health practice, visit our earlier post:
👉 Supporting Nursing and Allied Health Practice with Dynamic Health

You can also read the official announcement on Mount Sinai Daily.

For a quick overview, download our information sheet:
📄 Get to Know Dynamic Health (PDF)

Key Transition Details

Effective Date: October 15, 2025
New Platform: Dynamic Health CDS + Skills (by EBSCO Clinical Decisions)
Replacing: Nursing Reference Center Plus (NRC+)
Continuing Education: Certificates earned in NRC+ remain available at ceu.cinahl.com.
New CE credits can be earned by creating a personal account in Dynamic Health.

Visit our guide for access and training resources:
🔗 libguides.mssm.edu/dynamichealth

Need help getting started?
📧 library@mssm.edu

📞 212-241-7793
💬 askalibrarian.mssm.edu

Subjects

Ask a Library Expert

1

Behind the Scenes

10

Creativity and the Arts and Humanities

3

Evidence Based Practice

1

From the Desk of the Associate Dean

13

From the Mount Sinai Archives

2

Levy Library Press

3

Library Kudos

5

Library News

29

Library Operations Updates

32

See more...

Tags

referencemanagement

1

0

1

raceandbias

1

specialtopics

1

Recent Posts

Get to Know Dynamic Health: Transitioning from NRC+ on October 15, 2025

Beginning October 15, 2025, the Mount Sinai Health System will transition from Nursing Reference Center Plus (NRC+) to Dynamic Health CDS + Skills—an innovative, evidence-based resource designed to help nurses and health professionals strengthen learning, critical thinking, and confidence at the point of care.Dynamic Health builds on the trusted foundation of NRC+ with a more interactive design, expanded clinical coverage, and enhanced tools for professional growth. The platform offers continuing education modules, patient education handouts, care plans, leadership and management topics, quick lessons, videos, cultural competence resources, and test and lab summaries—all in one place.To learn more about how Dynamic Health supports nursing and allied health practice, visit our earlier post:👉 Supporting Nursing and Allied Health Practice with Dynamic HealthYou can also read the official announcement on Mount Sinai Daily.For a quick overview, download our information sheet:📄 Get to Know Dynamic Health (PDF)Key Transition DetailsEffective Date: October 15, 2025New Platform: Dynamic Health CDS + Skills (by EBSCO Clinical Decisions)Replacing: Nursing Reference Center Plus (NRC+)Continuing Education: Certificates earned in NRC+ remain available at ceu.cinahl.com. New CE credits can be earned by creating a personal account in Dynamic Health.Visit our guide for access and training resources:🔗 libguides.mssm.edu/dynamichealthNeed help getting started?📧 library@mssm.edu📞 212-241-7793💬 askalibrarian.mssm.edu...

Supporting Nursing and Allied Health Practice with Dynamic Health

Wondering where to go for answers to quick clinical nursing questions since Nursing Reference Center Plus is being discontinued? We suggest using Dynamic Health, a database made by nurses, for nurses and allied health professionals. Designed to support evidence-based practice and clinical decision-making, it includes many of the great features of Nursing Reference Center Plus with some new additions. You can see our previous blog post introducing Dynamic Health here (https://libguides.mssm.edu/blog/Dynamic-Health), but in this post, we’ll look more closely at a few of its features.How to Access Dynamic HealthFirst, how do you get there? There are a few ways! Access Dynamic Health on the Levy Library website under Databases: https://libguides.mssm.edu/dynamichealth; by clicking on the Dynamic Health: Nursing Resources icon on the Mount Sinai launcher, which replaces the Nursing Reference Center Plus icon;or by going to the Nursing Resources Guide (https://libguides.mssm.edu/nursing):All of the features discussed below can be found either on the top ribbon or under the Explore Resources section in the middle of the main Dynamic Health page. You can browse the categories or utilize the search bar at the top if you have a specific topic in mind.Patient Handouts Patient handouts have four categories: Diseases & Conditions, Procedures & Tests, Health & Wellness, and Discharge Instructions. If you’d like to browse them, handouts are arranged alphabetically (with a find feature at the top to easily filter down) and are available to print out in English and Spanish. Many have accompanying images. There are two options for saving as a PDF or printing; when choosing the print icon, you can choose which of these sections you’d like to include in the handout if you do not want to include them all. Examples of patient handout topics include:Acute PancreatitisIntubation and Mechanical VentilationDiabetes and Footcare How to Care for a Surgical WoundSkillsSkills guides have several categories as well: Nursing Skills, Health Profession Skills, Clinical Assistant Skills, Cultural Care Skills, and Patient Instruction Skills. These range from basic to specialty-specific skills, and also include information for allied health professions. A useful feature of these summaries is that they have accompanying checklists, which can be printed out and used for evaluation. When printing, you can choose to select all steps: Preprocedure, Procedure, and Postprocedure Steps, or just one or two.Examples of skills guides include:Assessing False Labor Braxton Hicks Contractions Preventing Pressure Injuries in AdultsCulturally Sensitive Care for Patients of Cuban Heritage With Mental Health ConcernsEducating About Asthma in Pediatric PatientsPerforming Point-of-Care HbA1c Testing in Ambulatory Care: Clinical AssistantCultural OverviewsCultural Overviews provide information on providing care to diverse faith and heritage groups. Guides go into special health considerations, communication dietary practices, decision-making with regard to relationships, and traditional health beliefs and medicines. Related Skills content is also linked on the right side of the page.Examples of cultural overviews:Amish Faith OverviewBuddhist Faith Overview American Indian and Alaska Native Heritages Overview Black American Heritage Overview Indian Heritage OverviewEarning CE Credit Dynamic Health does offer continuing education credits, but in a different way than Nursing Reference Center Plus did (to access your previous credits from Nursing Reference Center Plus, please go to this link: https://ceu.cinahl.com/login). To obtain contact hours in Dynamic Health, register for a personal account (pictured). When you answer a knowledge-based question on the topic and another on the topic’s applicability to your practice, you earn 0.1 contact hours. The American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) is the approving credentialing organization for the professional development offered in Dynamic Health.There are several other categories available through Dynamic Health, ranging from leadership topics to drug monographs from Davis’s Drug Guide for Nurses. You can view an introductory video to Dynamic Health here: https://www.ebsco.com/resources/dynamic-health-practice and a user guide here: https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/Dynamic-Health-User-Guide?language=en_US. If you’d like to share links from Dynamic Health with other Mount Sinai colleagues, please add this prefix in front of the link you’re sharing so they authenticate on the way into the resource: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/mssm.edu?url=Questions? Contact us: RefDesk@mssm.edu ...

EndNote 2025 Now Available via the Library!

We’re excited to share that EndNote 2025 is now available for download through the Levy Library website! Whether you’re drafting a term paper, dissertation, or your next journal submission, you’ll find that EndNote 2025 offers all the powerful features you know and love plus a suite of smart, time-saving enhancements. What’s New in EndNote 2025? AI Key Takeaways – Instantly generate summaries from PDF articles with a single click Find a Journal (FaJ) – Get journal recommendations as you write in Google Docs or Word Online Cite from PDF – Insert highlighted quotes with citation directly to your manuscriptImproved “Find Full Text” and “Find Reference Updates” – Enhanced citation accuracy and find full-text more easily Web of Science Integration – Easily view articles that cite your references and find related research Redesigned Summary Panel – Review reference details more clearly To get the latest copy of EndNote please visit our EndNote guide. Have any questions? Simply email us at refdesk@mssm.edu for assistance. ...

Fall 2025 Open Workshops are Here!

We are happy to announce that our Fall 2025 library workshops are now open for registration! Join us via Zoom as our experienced librarians and medical illustrators discuss a wide range of topics, including conducting a literature review, staying organized with reference management tools, evaluating patient education resources, selecting journal submission targets, and more! We are also excited to announce new workshops this semester! These include a session discussing the differences between systematic and scoping reviews; an overview of Dynamic Health, a great evidence-based resource for nurses that includes topics from nursing skills to patient education; and drop-in open hours for learning about Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop. How do I register? For a full list of our Fall 2025 library workshops, please visit our Library Events and Workshops page. Can’t make it to one of our scheduled live sessions? We’ve got you covered! Simply visit the Levy Library YouTube Channel to watch our recorded sessions anytime. For more information about library workshops, please contact us at refdesk@mssm.edu. ...

School Footer Page