Levy Library Blog

Each month Levy Library showcases the achievements of Mount Sinai faculty and researchers by highlighting an article and its altmetrics. Altmetrics are alternative measures of impact that capture non-traditional data like abstract views, article downloads, and social media activity. Our altmetrics data is provided by the PlumX platform. 

This month we highlight Integration of spatial and single-cell transcriptomic data elucidates mouse organogenesis. This article was written in part by Evan Bardot.

ABSTRACT

Molecular profiling of single cells has advanced our knowledge of the molecular basis of development. However, current approaches mostly rely on dissociating cells from tissues, thereby losing the crucial spatial context of regulatory processes. Here, we apply an image-based single-cell transcriptomics method, sequential fluorescence in situ hybridization (seqFISH), to detect mRNAs for 387 target genes in tissue sections of mouse embryos at the 8–12 somite stage. By integrating spatial context and multiplexed transcriptional measurements with two single-cell transcriptome atlases, we characterize cell types across the embryo and demonstrate that spatially resolved expression of genes not profiled by seqFISH can be imputed. We use this high-resolution spatial map to characterize fundamental steps in the patterning of the midbrain–hindbrain boundary (MHB) and the developing gut tube. We uncover axes of cell differentiation that are not apparent from single-cell RNA-sequencing (scRNA-seq) data, such as early dorsal–ventral separation of esophageal and tracheal progenitor populations in the gut tube. Our method provides an approach for studying cell fate decisions in complex tissues and development.

View this article's PlumX profile here

April is Stress Awareness Month. Everyone experiences stress from time to time, though our experiences and coping strategies differ. Learning to handle our stress and finding healthy ways to deal with these situations can go a long way in living a healthy and positive life.

Special Topics Collection: Wellness and Mindfulness

This collection of titles available through the library features a variety of reading options based on mindfulness, meditation, and emotional intelligence. 

The Levy Library's Wellness Guide

This guide was created in collaboration with IcahnBeWell, the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai Student Wellness program. It serves to connect ISMMS community members with wellness related resources such as reading lists, podcasts, apps, and more. 

The Office of Well-Being and Resilience

Mount Sinai's Office of Well-being and Resilience is dedicated to the health and well-being of students, trainees, researchers, and faculty across the health system. The center connects health system communities with resources for spiritual, emotional, physical, professional, and financial well-being.

Center for Stress, Resilience, and Personal Growth

Mount Sinai Center for Stress, Resilience, and Personal Growth provides services designed to promote recovery and resilience including resilience workshops, behavioral health treatment, and a mobile app. Additionally, the center studies resilience, traumatic stress, and depression and collaborate with the Depression and Anxiety Center for Discovery and Treatment.

Mount Sinai Calm

Mount Sinai Calm focuses on the importance of self-care to experience calming and healing effects. Each week the team offers yoga, meditation, and other types of live virtual classes. You can also enjoy Mount Sinai Calm videos any time you want through the Calm YouTube Playlist.

We bid a fond farewell to Rachel Pinotti, Director, Library Education & Research Services, whose last day with Levy Library was April 7th. 

Rachel has held a number of roles since joining Levy Library in December 2013. She partnered with the Department of Medical Education’s Curricular Affairs team to ensure the library was fully supporting the elements of the M.D. program related to information literacy, self-directed learning, and evidence-based medicine. Her work in this area was recognized with the Institute for Medical Education’s Excellence in Service of Education award in 2016.

Rachel oversaw the launch of two new services, the Systematic Review Service and the Writing Support Service, both of which were developed in response to previously unmet needs of the ISMMS community. In 2017, Rachel oversaw the implementation of the LibAnswers ticketing system to manage Ask-A-Librarian inquiries. In 2019, she assumed the role of platform administrator for the PlumX research information management system, implementing a sustainable maintenance model and developing a dedicated network of administrators throughout the school’s 80+ departments and research institutes.

In addition, Rachel played a key role the unification of the Mount Sinai Health System Libraries, overseeing the role out of Education & Research Services across the health system with the goal of ensuring that the same high quality library services are available to all users regardless of the location where they work and train. 

Lastly, Rachel has been a manager, mentor, and firm advocate for many staff members over the years. We are grateful to Rachel for her myriad contributions during her time at Mount Sinai and wish her much success on her future endeavors.

Women's History Month, as an official observance, may have come to an end but the recognition of women's achievements is year-round! Recently in March, the Levy Library team curated the Women in Medicine Special Topics Collection. 

While women have traditionally held caregiver roles within their families, it was not until relatively recently that women began practicing in mainstream modern medicine. Groundbreaking women have pushed forward in the face of gender bias and discrimination to advance the field and to work towards equity in both representation and quality of care. This collection was created to put a spotlight on pioneering women in medicine both past and present, many of whom are responsible for breakthrough contributions and discoveries.

Explore the full collection in the Research Discovery catalog. 

Kerry McKee, MLIS (She/her/hers)

Associate Director, Public Services

Did you know that Tuesday April 5, 2022 was National Library Workers Day - a part of National Library Week. It’s a day we recognize the valuable contributions made by all Library workers, especially our own library staff members who continue to work hard to support our school, research, and hospital communities every day. Whether they are making journals, e-books and databases available to the public, promoting library services and engaging with our communities online, answering questions at the front desk, ensuring our physical spaces are clean and welcoming, protecting our collections, or participating in a variety of other remote services, our library staff members continue to dedicate their time and energy to ensure that the Mount Sinai community is supported.

On behalf of the Mount Sinai community who continue to share how much these resources and services mean to them, I wanted to express thanks and gratitude for the exceptional work that all our team members put in day in and out to keep our libraries going:

• Chandra Weaver joined the Levy Library team in 1986 (yes that’s over 35 years!) as a library assistant supporting our interlibrary loans unit and continues to oversee the daily operations of our borrowing service to this day. You can also findChanda at the Levy Library front desk helping patrons with a myriad of questions from printing to book recommendations.


• Jessica Walker joined the Levy Library team in 2008 as one of our Circulation Services library assistants. Jessica helps to ensure that library physical spaces, equipment, and facilities are maintained, helps answer questions at the front, and occasionally brings in candy for our patrons!


• Luke Clinton joined the Mount Sinai West/Mount Sinai Morningside Library team in 2018 as our Library OperationsCoordinator. You can find Luke managing our library spaces at MountSinai West and Morningside, and supporting both in-person and online patron inquiries. Luke also supports the daily lending operations for interlibrary loan services providing a valuable services to our shared resources network.


• Terrell Artis joined the Levy Library team in 2001 as a Library Assistant specializing in cataloging and continues to oversee the maintenance of our physical collections and technology equipment. Terrell also supports ours physical library spaces and helps patrons every day at our front desk.


• Angelyn Thornton joined the Levy Library team in 2017 as our Outreach Coordinator. From managing our social media channels to designing our digital and print communications, Angelyn has been instrumental in sharing the story of the library and engaging with our community about all the library services and resources that are available.