The new edition of Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination is now available through the Levy Library. The fifth edition provides all new updated videos, completely re-shot since the 4th edition. This resource has been used for years by our medical students during Art and Science of Medicine, and we are glad to see that it was entirely updated for 2014. Bates’ includes over 8 hours of video content covering head-to-toe assessment as well as systems-based physical examination techniques. Access Bates’ through the Library’s databases page, the Required and Suggested Textbooks Page, or directly at Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination.
01/02/2014
Angelyn Thornton
No Subjects
We recently welcomed John Graves as Director of Instructional Technology in the division of Academic Informatics and Technology. He is leading a creative team focused on serving students, faculty and researchers within the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. John is relaunching the instructional technology team and further expanding collaboration, academic media and distance education technologies throughout the School.
John comes to us from Yale University where he led a variety of successful initiatives to improve teaching and learning technologies throughout the institution. Over the past five years he deployed new collaboration technologies to support the Yale School of Nursing’s distance education efforts and most recently launched an extensive network of classroom recording systems within the Yale School of Medicine and the Yale Law School. In launching new campus technologies he has also championed several faculty and student instructional technology support initiatives. John holds a Master of Arts degree from Saint Michael’s College and a Bachelor of Media Studies from Radford University. Join us in welcoming him to the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai!
The Mount Sinai Archives of Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai is very happy to announce that 65 volumes of Mount Sinai related publications are now available on the Internet Archive (https://archive.org/details/mountsinaiarchives). These volumes represent 111 separate publications across eight discrete titles and total over 18,000 pages. They were scanned through the support of the Metropolitan New York Library Council (METRO.) The bulk of the collection consists of the Annual Reports of The Mount Sinai Hospital and its predecessor organization (until 1866), the Jews’ Hospital in the City of New York. These Reports date from 1856-1956 with some gaps in the early years. The collection also includes the complete five volume set of The Mount Sinai Hospital Reports, 1898-1906, the Report of The Mount Sinai Training School for Nurses from 1881-1911, and the Rules and Regulations for the Government of The Mount Sinai Hospital of the City of New York from 1899-1919. Two previously published histories of The Mount Sinai Hospital are also being made available: The Story of the First Fifty Years of The Mount Sinai Hospital (Mount Sinai Hospital, 1944) and The First Hundred Years of The Mount Sinai Hospital of New York, 1852-1952 by Joseph Hirsh and Beka Doherty (Random House, 1952).
Taken together, these volumes are a wonderful resource for information on the development of hospitals and healthcare during the 19th and early 20th centuries. As such, they have been added to the Medical Heritage Library, a collaborative project that promotes open access to medical history resources. The Annual Reports also provide insight into the Jewish community of New York City during this time, including names and addresses of the Hospital’s supporters.
Our thanks to METRO for their support of this project. Please let us know if you have any questions or need additional information about these or other Mount Sinai records.