The Levy Library Blog

Your book suggestions welcome for grant-funded collection additions!

Your book suggestions welcome for grant-funded collection additions

The Levy Library is thrilled to announce that we have been awarded a Network of the National Library of Medicine (NNLM) Region 7 Collection Equity Grant*. This grant provides $2,000 that we will use to purchase materials from emerging and historically marginalized voices and diverse viewpoints on a variety of topics that play a major role in health. 

With your help, we will enhance our Special Topics in Health and Medicine collection which currently offers topics from Graphic Medicine and LGBTQ+ Health, to Managing Mental Health and Women in Medicine.   

We invite you to share recommendations for books that you think should be available for the Mount Sinai community, especially books or topics that reflect your own interests and experiences. We are also seeking suggestions for books to help build three new themes in our collection:

• How medicine and health are portrayed in the arts
• The impact of environmental concerns on individual and collective health
• Growth of artificial intelligence and its impact on health care and outcomes.

Submit your suggestions through our online form or visit the Levy Library on Annenberg 11 to fill out the form in-person by April 30th.  We will review all suggestions and share back with the Mount Sinai community what we acquire for the Library. 

While this grant-funded opportunity invites specific recommendations with a deadline, suggestions to expand the Levy Library collection can be made at any time through our online suggest a purchase form. All suggestions are carefully reviewed considering vendor options and our available funding. 

We appreciate your participation in building your Levy Library’s collection and look forward to your suggestions.  

Thank you for engaging with your Levy Library. 

*NIH Grant Support and Disclaimer:

Developed resources reported in this communication are supported by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health (NIH) under cooperative agreement number UG4L M012347. The content is solely the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent the official views of the National Institutes of Health.