Wellness Begins with You!
by Kerry McKee on 2020-02-19T16:57:00-05:00 in Education | 0 CommentsDid you know that the Levy Library team recently released a new special topics collection of books that focus on wellness? We are very excited to bring this collection of resources to Mount Sinai community because we know that wellness affects every person in our community in one way or another. From the ISMMS student who is seeking balance between their school and personal life, to the nurse who is seeking information on making wellness a priority in his/her/they own life to prevent burnout at work.
When one thinks about wellness, it is often related to one's physical wellness- regular exercise, weight management and a nutritious diet. However, in the curation of this book collection, we wanted to find books that addressed the other dimensions of wellness that may not be as well known- spiritual, emotional, occupational, intellectual, and social wellness. We found ourselves using the National Wellness Institute's Six Dimension's of Wellness Tool to help us create the scope for this collection.
This collection is still in its early stages but we plan to add many more physical and electronic resources that cover these dimensions. For now you can can take a look at our list of titles available or feel free to stop by the Levy Library to see the collection in person.
Here is breakdown of some of our favorites that we think you will enjoy too!
Search Inside Yourself: the Secret to Unbreakable Concentration, Complete Relaxation and Effortless Self-Control
Can you imagine what it's like to be able to completely clear your mind and experience a deep sense of calm whenever you want? What about the power to switch into a state of intense concentration, but at the same time be completely relaxed? Or even to feel the beginnings of an unwanted emotion, like anger, but be able to choose whether to let it take hold of you, or simply make it dissolve and disappear?
One Google engineer managed to do just that. Chade-Meng Tan discovered a way of explaining these secrets in a way that busy, stressed-out people could instantly understand. So many fellow Google employees told him that it had changed their life that he stopped engineering to share it with the world.
The course that he still runs at Google is in this book, and it's designed in a practical way that anyone can apply to any area of their work or family life. Meng won't ask you to hug a tree or 'find your center'. He'll use brain scans, modern science and plenty of humor to show you how a miraculous technique called mindfulness can, in just 100 minutes, begin to change your life.
How to Be Nice to Yourself: The Everyday Guide to Self Compassion - Effective Strategies to Increase Self-Love and Acceptance
Today's the day to start loving yourself. How to Be Nice to Yourself makes it simple to start practicing self compassion with a wide variety of techniques and strategies that anyone can learn.
Filled with easy-to-use advice drawn from a variety of sources--including meditation, mindfulness, and acceptance and commitment therapy--this book will help you find the right way to start feeling good about yourself.
Gmorning, Gnight! : Little pep talks for me & you
Whether you want to change your morning mindset or calm your head before you sleep, Lin-Manuel Miranda has just the right pep talk for you. He wrote these original sayings, aphorisms, and poetry for himself as much as for others. But as Miranda was catapulted to international fame and his audience grew, these messages began to delight thousands across the world.
Now, GMORNING, GNIGHT! gathers the best of his daily greetings into a beautiful collection illustrated by acclaimed artist (and fellow Twitter favorite) Jonny Sun. Full of comfort, positivity and motivation, this little book is a touchstone for anyone who needs a quick lift at the start and end of each day.
Check out the entire collection of wellness books HERE.
Add a Comment
Search this Blog
Recent Posts
Happy National Library Week!
Enhancing the Research and Study Options in the Library: Changes to Seating Zones and Food Policy
Inspiration Continues Here - New Offerings in the Library Creative Zone
Library Operations Updates - Exceptions and Closures
Library Hours for Presidents' Day
Subscribe
Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.
Archive
Subjects
Artificial Intelligence
Behind the Scenes
Classes and Events
Education
Frequently Used Databases
From the Desk of the Associate Dean
From the Mount Sinai Archives
How Do I?
In The News
Levy Library Press
Levy Throwback
Library Announcements
Library Kudos
Library News
Public Health
Publication News
Researcher's Corner
Resource Spotlight
We Can Help!
0 Comments.