Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Levy Library Blog

Spring 2021 Preview: Check out our upcoming classes!

by Angelyn Thornton on 2021-01-06T10:00:00-05:00 | Comments

 

Conducting a Literature Review | Tuesday, January 12, 2021 | Thursday, June 24, 2021

This session will focus on the execution of a complete and organized literature search. We’ll discuss topic/question formation and learn how to develop a comprehensive search strategy. While the session will center on PubMed, the importance of other key databases, such as Scopus, will also be discussed.


Accessing and Navigating Library Resources Remotely | Tuesday, January 19, 2021

Join us for a 30-minute Zoom session on accessing and navigating library resources remotely. This session will cover how to access e-resources off-campus, common access issues and troubleshooting, and how to get from citations to full text in PubMed, Google Scholar, and more. 


Beyond PubMed: Scopus for Searching | Thursday, January 28, 2021

While PubMed contains the core set of biomedical journals, there is much more information available to you via the Levy Library resources. This session will focus on Scopus, a multidisciplinary citation database that allows you to track, analyze, and visualize research. Learn how to search documents or authors, find journal rankings, and save sets of citations. 


Maintaining Academic Integrity & Avoiding Plagiarism | Tuesday, February 2, 2021

Please join us for a 30-minute Zoom session on maintaining academic integrity & avoiding plagiarism through the appropriate use of citations. This session will cover proper writing techniques, appropriate references and citations integration, and self-check strategies and tools.


Intensive Searching with OVID | Thursday, February 18, 2021

Have you ever wondered how those comprehensive systematic review searches are created? Typically by searching the Ovid platform, which contains vital databases such as Embase, Medline, & PsycINFO. This session will provide an overview of the databases available via Ovid, a comprehensive demonstration on searching the platform, and searching tips & tricks.


Navigating CINAHL | Tuesday, February 23, 2021

Join us for a short session on searching the Comprehensive Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL). This session will cover accessing CINAHL via the library's website, using "suggest subject" terms to create a targeted search, sorting and filtering results, accessing full text, and searching for publications written by nurses.


Introduction to EndNote | Thursday, March 4, 2021

Discover what millions of researchers, scholarly writers, students, and librarians already know about the power of EndNote to search online databases, organize references, and easily create properly formatted citations. In this class, you will practice using EndNote x9 to collect, organize and maintain a 'library' of references, learn how to find and save full-text journal articles, and more!


Zotero in 30 Minutes | Tuesday, March 16, 2021

Join us for a 30-minute Zoom session on Zotero basics.  This session will cover setting up Zotero on your desktop and creating your online account, using Zotero Connector, adding citations to your library directly from the web (PMID, DOI), using the Magic Wand feature, and using the Zotero Microsoft Word plugin.


Introduction to Preprints | Thursday, March 25, 2021

Preprints are changing the scientific publishing landscape, enabling research to be rapidly disseminated. Join us for this 30-minute session in which we will cover what preprints are, how they differ from other versions of research papers, and where to find them.


Introduction to Nursing Reference Center Plus | Tuesday, April 6, 2021

Please join us for a 30-minute Zoom session on the Nursing Reference Center Plus database. This session will cover evidence-based content on Nursing Reference Center, accessing free CE credits, how to generate a reference in the database, and accessing patient education materials. 


So You Want to Do a Systematic Review? | Thursday, April 15, 2021

Thinking of starting a systematic review and don’t know where to start? This 30-minute session will introduce you to what’s involved in conducting a systematic review, best practices for conducting a quality review, and library resources available to you.


Patient Education: Best Practices & Resources | Tuesday, April 20, 2021

This session will address patient health literacy, reading levels, and information available in other languages. Both library databases with patient education materials and web resources will be reviewed. Criteria for evaluating internet health websites will also be covered.


Finding & Accessing Public Datasets | Thursday, May 6, 2021

Many research organizations and governmental bodies make data publically available on the internet, but how do you go about finding it? Join us for a 30-minute session to learn about refining your data need, using published literature and specialized data tools to find sources, and citing data sets. 


Evidence-Based Practice Resources for Nurses | Tuesday, May 25, 2021

In this session, we will go over best practices for finding evidence-based nursing resources online, including a broad overview of resources like Sigma Repository, Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step by the American Journal of Nursing, the Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice Model, and more.


Resources for Acquiring Best Evidence | Tuesday, June 8, 2021

Join us for a 30-minute Zoom session on resources for acquiring best evidence. What works for an on-the-fly question on the wards might not help you prepare for journal club or understand the evidence underlying a standard of care. In this session, we will compare and contrast three different resources – DynaMed, UpToDate, and the Cochrane Library – and explore when to use each one.


Review Types: Selecting the Right Review Methodology for Your Research Question | Thursday, June 17, 2021

Are you overwhelmed with the sheer amount of review types out there in the research literature? Don't understand the difference between systematic and scoping reviews? Recently heard of integrative reviews but are clueless as to what they entail? This hour-long session will cover the most popular review types, how to determine which is best for you, and how to get in-depth help from a librarian.

 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...