The Levy Library Blog

Sneak Peek: Fall 2020 Classes with The Levy Library

The Levy Library has so many educational opportunities coming your way this Fall! Here's a list of what you can expect for the rest of 2020...

SEPTEMBER

Conducting a Literature Review | Thursday 9/17/2020

This session will focus on the execution of a complete and organized literature search. We’ll discuss topic/question formation and learn how to develop a comprehensive search strategy. While the session will center on PubMed, the importance of other key databases, such as Scopus, will also be discussed.

Open Access & The Levy Library Press | Monday 9/21/2020 

Join us for a 30-minute Zoom session on Open Access and the Levy Library Press. In this session we will cover the Open Access (OA) publishing model and how it differs from the traditional model of scholarly publishing. We'll also discuss predatory OA publishers and how to spot and avoid them.

Making the Most of Your Scopus Author Profile | Tuesday 9/29/2020

Scopus is a multidisciplinary citation database that allows you to track, analyze, and visualize research. Your Scopus author profile includes a list of your citations, your co-authors, your h-index and other metrics that are often used to assess the impact of your work, so it’s important to keep it up to date and accurate. This session helps participants better understand their author profile and how to use it to grow your network.

OCTOBER

Levy Library Research Discovery 101 | Thursday 10/5/2020

The Levy Library’s catalog has undergone a major revamp! This session will introduce you to our new platform, provide best practices for locating the materials you need, and demonstrate our exciting new personal account feature!

Finding Datasets & Statistics | Thursday 10/8/2020

Many research organizations and governmental bodies make data publicly available on the internet, but how do you go about finding it? In this 30 minute session, we’ll discuss refining your data need, using published literature & specialized data search tools to find potential data sources and how to evaluate data.

Introduction to Preprints | Tuesday 10/13/2020

Preprints are changing the scientific publishing landscape, enabling research to be rapidly disseminated. Join us for this 30 minute Zoom session in which we'll cover what preprints are, how they differ from other versions of research papers, and where to find them. We'll also dive into why they're beneficial, especially in the age of COVID-19.

Introduction to EndNote | Tuesday 10/20/2020

Discover what millions of researchers, scholarly writers, students and librarians already know about the power of EndNote to search online databases, organize references, and easily create properly formatted citations. In this class, you will practice using EndNote x9 to collect, organize and maintain a 'library' of references, find and save full-text journal articles, and insert & format references in a MS Word document. The class will also cover searching and exporting citations from PubMed and Google Scholar as well as syncing your desktop library with EndNote Online.

Understanding ORCID | Wednesday 10/28/2020

ORCID iDs are persistent digital identifiers that distinguish individual investigators and can be used to connect researchers with their contributions over time and across changes of name, location, and institutional affiliation. To facilitate scholarly communication and output, many research funding organizations now require grant applicants to have an ORCID iD. This session will cover how to register for an ID and add publications to your record.

NOVEMBER

Nursing Reference Center Plus | Tuesday 11/3/2020

Please join us for a 30 minute Zoom session on the Nursing Reference Center database.  In this session we'll cover evidence-based content on NRC, accessing FREE CE credits, how to generate a reference in NRC, accessing competency checklists and patient education, and leadership topics.

Journal Selection Tips & Tools | Thursday 11/12/2020

Join us for a 30 minute Zoom session on Journal Selection Tips & Tools. In this session we'll cover using the Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE) tool to identify appropriate publication targets and using the PubsHub database to compare journals on various criteria including impact factor, rejection rate, target audience, and publication turnaround time. We'll also talk about writing a cover letter to the editor of your chosen target journal.

So You Want to Do a Systematic Review? | Tuesday 11/17/2020

Thinking of starting a systematic review and don’t know where to start? This 30 minute session will introduce you to what’s involved in conducting a systematic review, best practices for conducting a quality review, and library resources available to you.

Measuring Your Research Impact with PlumX & Altmetrics | Tuesday 11/24/2020

Researchers have many forms of scholarly output, covering much more than journal articles and books. Learn how PlumX tracks the usage of scholarly work by gathering metrics on both traditional and alternative research outputs. In this session we’ll cover what altmetrics are and why they’re important, how PlumX tracks scholarly output, and how to manage your Plum profile.

DECEMBER

Levy Library Research Discovery 101 | Tuesday 12/08/2020

The Levy Library’s catalog has undergone a major revamp! This session will introduce you to our new platform, provide best practices for locating the materials you need, and demonstrate our exciting new personal account feature!

Grey Literature: What It Is and How to Find It | Thursday 12/10/2020

Grey literature, or literature produced outside of traditional publishing channels, is often high quality and should be considered in your research. However, grey literature sources can be confusing and difficult to locate. This session will define and contextualize the concept of grey literature, as well as teach attendees the best ways to locate and identify relevant sources.

Introduction to EndNote | Tuesday 12/15/2020

Discover what millions of researchers, scholarly writers, students and librarians already know about the power of EndNote to search online databases, organize references, and easily create properly formatted citations. In this class, you will practice using EndNote x9 to collect, organize and maintain a 'library' of references, find and save full-text journal articles, and insert & format references in a MS Word document. The class will also cover searching and exporting citations from PubMed and Google Scholar as well as syncing your desktop library with EndNote Online.