The Levy Library Blog

Fall Library Classes are Here!

Fall 2022 Library Classes are open for registration! Join us via Zoom to learn research tips and best practices directly from Levy’s experienced librarians. Classes cover a variety of topics, including conducting literature reviews, selecting a journal submission target, utilizing reference management software, and evaluating patient education resources.

Can’t make a scheduled live session? View session recordings anytime on Levy Library’s YouTube Channel! Keep reading for class descriptions and registration links.

September 2022

Analyze Scholarly Activity Using SciVal: Training for the ISMSS Research Community

• 9/14/2022      
• 12pm-1:30pm 

Join us to learn more about what you can do with Elsevier's SciVal! SciVal provides access to the research performance of thousands of research institutions and their associated researchers from 231 nations worldwide—so you can visualize research performance, benchmark relative to peers, develop strategic partnerships, identify and analyze new, emerging research trends, and create uniquely tailored reports.

Register here: https://libcal.mssm.edu/event/9547099

Conducting a Literature Review      

• 9/15/2022      
• 2pm-3pm       

This session will focus on the execution of a complete and organized literature search. We’ll discuss topic/question formation and learn how to develop a comprehensive search strategy. While the session will center on PubMed, the importance of other key databases, such as Scopus, will also be discussed. Attendees will leave this session feeling confident that they can…

• Form a searchable question
• Identify appropriate databases/information sources
• Create & execute a comprehensive search strategy
• Organize their results

Register here: https://libcal.mssm.edu/event/9416248

Journal Selection Tips & Tools

• 9/21/2022      
• 1pm-1:30pm  

Join us for a 30-minute Zoom session on Journal Selection Tips & Tools. In this session we'll cover:

• Using the Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE) tool to identify appropriate publication targets
• Using the PubsHub database to compare journals on various criteria including impact factor, rejection rate, target audience, and publication turnaround time
• Writing a cover letter to the editor of your chosen target journal

Register here: https://libcal.mssm.edu/event/9416252

October 2022

Introduction to EndNote

• 10/6/2022
• 1pm-2pm       

EndNote 20 allows you to search online databases, organize references, and easily create properly formatted citations. In addition to covering the new features of EndNote 20, this class will give you the chance to practice using EndNote 20 to collect, organize, and maintain a 'library' of references, find and save full-text journal articles, and insert/format references in a MS Word document. The class will also cover searching and exporting citations from PubMed and Google Scholar.

Register here: https://libcal.mssm.edu/event/9416305

Patient Education: Evaluating Consumer Health Websites

10/20/2022

1-1:30pm

In this session, we'll cover:

• Factors to consider when selecting patient material Identifying credible websites
• Criteria for evaluating reliable a consumer health website
• Levy Library Patient Education resources

Register here: https://libcal.mssm.edu/event/9416316

November 2022

Zotero in 30 Minutes

• 11/10/2022    
• 1pm-1:30pm  

Join us for a 30-minute Zoom session on Zotero basics. In this session we'll cover:

• Setting up Zotero on your desktop and creating your online account
• Using Zotero Connector to capture webpages, PDFs, and more
• Adding citations to your library directly from the web (PMID, DOI) and using Zotero's Magic Wand feature
• Using the Zotero Microsoft Word plugin to automatically insert citations and create your bibliography in Google Docs / Microsoft Word.

Register here: https://libcal.mssm.edu/event/9416320

December 2022

Introduction to EndNote      

• 12/8/2022
• 2pm-3pm       

EndNote 20 allows you to search online databases, organize references, and easily create properly formatted citations. In addition to covering the new features of EndNote 20, this class will give you the chance to practice using EndNote 20 to collect, organize, and maintain a 'library' of references, find and save full-text journal articles, and insert/format references in a MS Word document. The class will also cover searching and exporting citations from PubMed and Google Scholar.

• Register here: https://libcal.mssm.edu/event/9416334