POPLINE the world's largest database on reproductive health. It provides more than 300,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. The database, which is free online, is maintained by the K4Health Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health and funded by the United States Agency for International Development.
Global Health is a international public health database with unique content in the areas of tropical medicine, infectious diseases, vector control, food safety, and epidemiology. It contains over 1 million records covering more than 3500 serials, including foriegn language journals. Records also cover books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, patents, theses, electronic-only publications, health standards, information from developing countries, and other difficult to obtain material. Provided on the OvidSP platform.
MEDLINE provides citations and abstracts for the journal literature of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Articles are indexed using National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). MEDLINE contains citations published in Index Medicus, and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature. This version of MEDLINE is delivered through the PubMed interface.
A very large interdisciplinary database that provides citations and abstracts for journal articles in thousands of subjects. Citation information is tracked back to 1996, allowing you to identify articles that reference earlier articles, calculate metrics such as the h-index and compare journal citation information.
GIDEON is an interactive and frequently updated global infectious disease knowledge management tool that can be used for diagnosis and reference in the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology, and antimicrobial chemotherapy.
Provides citations and abstracts for the biomedical sciences journal literature, in particular pharmacology, biotechnology, toxicology and occupational and environmental health. Covers 7,000 journals, over 25% of which are not in MEDLINE. Indexes articles using the Emtree thesaurus, which emphasizes synonyms for drugs and chemicals. This version of Embase is delivered on the OvidSP platform.
A large interdisciplinary database that includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It provides citations and abstracts for journal articles and conference abstracts, and compiles the cited references of the publications. Cited reference searching enables you to identify articles that contain citations to an earlier article, and to trace how an idea has been confirmed, applied, extended or corrected in later publications.
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO contains citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports as well as citations to dissertations in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, and education. Coverage extends back to 1887. Also known as PsychINFO.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases from The Cochrane Collaboration, an international network that prepares, promotes and disseminates systematic reviews of health care interventions. The Cochrane Library includes six databases: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR; Cochrane Reviews) containing systematic reviews addressing effectiveness of clinical interventions; The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE; Other Reviews); The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL, Clinical Trials); The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR); The Health Technology Assessment database; The National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database. Instructions: Search one or all databases in the Cochrane Library by using the Advanced Search screen on the Wiley platform.
LexisNexis Academic provides full-text access for legal, news, and business information. Among the legal resources are Shepard's Citations service; law review articles; Federal regulations; codes for all 50 states and territories (including public health codes); and U.S. and international patents. News sources encompass magazines, trade journals, newspapers, wire services and broadcast transcripts. The business module includes over 25 sources, e.g., Standard & Poor's Corporate Descriptions, SEC filings, and Hoover's Company Reports. In addition, LexisNexis provides access to medical news and journals; biographical information; country and state profiles; and The World Almanac and Book of Facts.
TOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork, a free database platform from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides integrated online searching of over a dozen databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and related areas. It can be used to locate toxicology data, literature references, and toxic release information on particular chemicals as well as to search to identify chemicals that cause specific effects.
Check the catalog for further books on the topic of public health research.
An Introduction to Categorical Data Analysis
by Alan Agresti
Publication Date: 2007-03-23
An Introduction to Categorical Data Analysis, Second Edition provides an applied introduction to the most important methods for analyzing categorical data. This new edition summarizes methods that have long played a prominent role in data analysis, such as chi-squared tests, and also places special emphasis on logistic regression and other modeling techniques for univariate and correlated multivariate categorical responses.
Introduction to Public Health
by Mary-Jane Schneider
Publication Date: 2013-03-06
Introduction to Public Health, Fourth Edition offers a thorough, accessible overview of the expanding field of public health for students new to its concepts and actors. Written in engaging, nontechnical language, this best-selling text explains in clear terms the multi-disciplinary strategies and methods used for measuring, assessing, and promoting public health.Packed with illustrative real-world examples, this updated edition provides students with informative discussions of the current technical issues and practical obstacles facing public health practitioners and policymakers alike.
Health Behavior and Health Education
by Karen Glanz (Editor); Barbara K. Rimer (Editor); K. V. Viswanath (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008-09-02
This fourth edition of the classic book, Health Behavior and Health Education: Theory, Research, and Practice provides a comprehensive, highly accessible, and in-depth analysis of health behavior theories that are most relevant to health education. This essential resource includes the most current information on theory, research, and practice at individual, interpersonal, and community and group levels.
Essentials of Environmental Health
by Robert H. Friis
Publication Date: 2010-12-07
This best-selling offering from the APHA/Jones & Bartlett Learning Essential Public Health series is a clear and comprehensive study of the major topics of environmental health, including:* Background of the field and "tools of the trade" (environmental epidemiology, environmental toxicology, and environmental policy and regulation). * Environmental diseases (microbial agents, ionizing and non-ionizing radiation). * Applications and domains of environmental health (water and air quality, food safety, waste disposal, and occupational health).
Reimagining Global Health
by Paul Farmer (Editor); Jim Kim (Editor); Matthew Basilico (Editor); Arthur Kleinman (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013-09-07
Bringing together the experience, perspective and expertise of Paul Farmer, Jim Yong Kim, and Arthur Kleinman, Reimagining Global Health provides an original, compelling introduction to the field of global health. Drawn from a Harvard course developed by their student Matthew Basilico, this work provides an accessible and engaging framework for the study of global health. Insisting on an approach that is historically deep and geographically broad, the authors underline the importance of a transdisciplinary approach, and offer a highly readable distillation of several historical and ethnographic perspectives of contemporary global health problems.