Skip to main content

Web of Science: Using a Citation Database: Goals & Instructions

Welcome to Levy Library's Web of Science Tutorial

This tutorial addresses the fundamentals of using citation data to find articles and calculate publication metrics, with an emphasis on retrieving and managing information from the Web of Science database. The emphasis is on proficient and efficient "real life searching". 

By the end of this tutorial you will be able to: 

  1. Know how citation databases such as Web of Science and Scopus are different from PubMed and when to use them.
  2. Find papers that cite a specific paper or author.
  3. Use effective search techniques to locate articles that are either unavailable in PubMed or easier to find in a citation database.
  4. Use citation databases to identify core literature on a topic and trace the application of a theory or method over time.
  5. Use Web of Science to analyze search results and find Impact Factors and other academic performance metrics.

Instructions

To start the tutorial, click on a page from the list on the left or from the drop down menus on the top.  You can go through the modules from start to finish, or jump to a specific section.


Practice Exercises: 
A light blue background will appear during the hands-on sections of the tutorial. The examples will be based on the Web of Science database, one of many citation indexes available from Levy Library.

Use the link below to open Web of Science in a new window so you can use the site for the hands-on sections. (If you are off-campus, you will need to login to Web of Science with your Mount Sinai email username and password.) Web of Science can also be accessed via the Web of Science links available on the Levy Library homepage (under Key Resources, on the right hand side of the page) and on the Databases page (on the Frequently Used Databses list).

 

Web of Science: Using a Citation Database

© 2010-2013, Gustave L. and Janet W. Levy Library of the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.
Tutorial originally developed by Christina O'Grady. Maintained by Pauline Beam (pauline.beam@mssm.edu) 2012-2013.  Revised and maintained by Rachel Pinotti (rachel.pinotti@mssm.edu) 2014 - present.