"Mastering Your PhD: Survival and Success in the Doctoral Years and Beyond" helps guide PhD students through their graduate student years. Filled with practical advice on getting started, communicating with your supervisor, staying the course, and planning for the future, this book is a handy guide for graduate students who need that extra bit of help getting started and making it through.
Covering key topics including what a PhD is really about, how to do one well, how to decipher what your supervisor actually means by terms like 'good referencing' and 'clean research question', and how to design, report and defend your research, the authors continue to offer an accessible, down-to-earth, and insightful account of the whole PhD process.
This book provides parallels and contrasts between the processes of choosing a post-doctoral fellowship and a biotechnology company. Written by an experienced academician and successful biotechnology entrepreneur.
This work takes the young scientist on the journey from the end of a postdoctoral career to the point of promotion from Assistant Professor to Associate Professor. The book takes a hard new look at the difficult process of becoming a successful biomedical research scientist. The advice provided is not only that of the authors but substantiated by the results of the national survey and interviews with other professors.
You can do more with your science degree than you ever dreamed!
* An insider's look at the wide range of job opportunities for scientists yearning to leave the lab
* First-person stories from researchers who successfully made the leap from science into finance, journalism, law, public policy, and more.
* Tips on how to track down and get that job in a new industry
Scientific research requires both innovation and attention to detail, clever breakthroughs and routine procedures. This indispensable guide gives students and researchers across all scientific disciplines practical advice on how to succeed. All types of scientific careers are discussed, from those in industry and academia to consulting, with emphasis on how scientists spend their time and the skills that are needed to be productive. Strategic thinking, creativity and problem-solving, the central keys to success in research, are all explored.
This book is written for undergraduate and graduate students in biomedical engineering wanting to learn how to pursue a career in building up their entrepreneur ventures. Practicing engineers wanting to apply their innovations for healthcare will also find this book useful. In this publication, many examples of innovations in biomedical engineering are covered, from the conceptualization stage to successful implementation and commercialization.
This indispensable guide provides a roadmap to the broad and varied career development opportunities in bioengineering, biotechnology, and related fields. Eminent practitioners lay out career paths related to academia, industry, government and regulatory affairs, healthcare, law, marketing, entrepreneurship, and more. Lifetimes of experience and wisdom are shared, including "war stories," strategies for success, and discussions of the authors' personal views and motivations.
Career Planning for Research Bioscientists is an essential careers guide for bioscience doctoral students and postdoctoral researchers. It contains a wealth of information and resources specifically targeted at research bioscientists, with practical strategies to enhance career success in an increasingly competitive job market. Advice on how to write a winning CV together with examples adapted for different jobs is presented, as well as practical exercises to assist with skills analysis and decision making.
"The Chicago Guide to Landing a Job in Academic Biology" is an indispensable guide for graduate students and post-docs as they enter that domain red in tooth and claw: the job market. With jobs in the sciences ever more difficult to come by, The Chicago Guide to Landing a Job in Academic Biology is designed to help students and post-docs navigate the tricky terrain of an academic job search—from the first year of a graduate program to the final negotiations of a job offer.
This unique, practical guide for postdoctoral researchers and graduate students explains how to build and perfect the necessary research tools and working skills to build a career in academia and beyond.Packed with helpful features encouraging readers to apply the theory to their individual situation, the book is also illustrated throughout with real-world case studies to enable readers to learn from others' experience. It is a vital handbook for everyone seeking to make a successful scientific career.
This is the official text for the National Association of Science Writers. Offers a roadmap to the area of science writing. In this edition, various chapters cover the techniques of good science writing, explanatory writing, writing under deadline, clone and stem-cell research, biology of behavior and eugenics, mental health, human genetics, as well as making sense of conflicting studies. This book provides tools every good science writer needs: how to use statistics, how to weigh the merits of conflicting studies in scientific literature, how to report about risk. And, ultimately, how to write.
Despite your graduate education, brainpower, and technical prowess, your career in scientific research is far from assured. Permanent positions are scarce, science survival is rarely part of formal graduate training, and a good mentor is hard to find. In A Ph.D. Is Not Enough!, physicist Peter J. Feibelman lays out a rational path to a fulfilling long-term research career. A classic guide for recent and soon-to-be graduates, A Ph.D. Is Not Enough! remains required reading for anyone on the threshold of a career in science.
The Physician Scientist's Career Guide provides a complete guide to having a successful career as a Physician Scientist. Filled with first-hand experiences and practical advice, it guides readers through each step of this career path, from choosing a degree and training program, to navigating the tenure track, and through the intricacies of applying for and obtaining funding. The Physician Scientist's Career Guide fulfills a unique and crucial need and will be an invaluable guide for medical students, fellows and newly appointed faculty members interested in a career in research.
Providing strategies for building a successful research career, this book looks at higher education and offers practical advice on key aspects of research activity: getting research grants, publishing in peer-reviewed journals, and writing books. It is useful for those working in higher education.
The Academic Job Search Handbook
by Julia Miller Vick; Jennifer S. Furlong
Call Number: LB 2331.72 V636 2008
Publication Date: 2008-06-30
For more than 15 years, The Academic Job Search Handbook has assisted job seekers in all academic disciplines in their search for faculty positions. The guide includes information on aspects of the search that are common to all levels, with invaluable tips for those seeking their first or second faculty position. Guidance throughout is aimed at all candidates, with frequent reference to the specifics of job searches in scientific and technical fields as well as those in the humanities and social sciences.
At the Bench
by Kathy Barker
Call Number: QY 25 B255 2005
Publication Date: 2004-11-02
At the Bench is the unique and hugely successful handbook for living and working in the laboratory, an essential aid to understanding basic lab techniques and how research groups work at a human level. Dr. Barker offers advice, moral support, social etiquette, and professional reassurance along with assume-nothing, step-by-step instructions for those basic but vital laboratory procedures that experienced investigators know—but may not realize novices don’t.
Career Opportunities in Biotechnology and Drug Development
by Toby Freedman
Call Number: TP 248.2 F853 2008
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
An essential guide for students in the life sciences, established researchers, and career counselors, this resource features discussions of job security, future trends, and potential career paths. Even those already working in the industry will find helpful information on how to take advantage of opportunities within their own companies and elsewhere.
Career Opportunities in Clinical Drug Research
by Rebecca J. Anderson
Call Number: QV 736 A549 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-26
This book is an easy-to-follow handbook that introduces readers to entry-level clinical job opportunities and explains how to qualify for them, with a particular emphasis on how to gain clinical experience that a hiring manager will accept. A list of career options available to workers after mastering their entry-level clinical position, as well as a tool box for those seeking a position, are included. Career Opportunities in Clinical Drug Research also gives readers a brief overview of research and development in the pharmaceutical industry and explains how a typical clinical study is conducted.
The Chicago Guide to Your Career in Science
by Victor A. Bloomfield; Esam E. El-Fakahany
Call Number: Q 147 B655 2008
Publication Date: 2008-05-01
Embarking upon research as a graduate student or postdoc can be exciting and enriching. "The Chicago Guide to Your Career in Science" is intended to help scientists not just cope but excel at this critical phase in their careers. Victor A. Bloomfield and Esam E. El-Fakahany, both well-known scientists with extensive experience as teachers, mentors, and administrators, have combined their knowledge to create a guidebook that addresses all of the challenges that today's scientists-in-training face.
So What Are You Going to Do with That?
by Susan Basalla; Maggie Debelius
Call Number: HF 5382.7 B297 2007
Publication Date: 2007-03-15
A witty, accessible guide full of concrete advice for anyone contemplating the jump from scholarship to the outside world, “So What Are You Going to Do with That?” covers topics ranging from career counseling to interview etiquette to translating skills learned in the academy into terms an employer can understand and appreciate. Packed with examples and stories from real people who have successfully made this daunting—but potentially rewarding— transition, and written with a deep understanding of both the joys and difficulties of the academic life.