Skip to main content

Clerkship Resources and Tips: Cochrane Collaboration Resources

Keys to success in the clerkships and beyond.

Cochrane Collaboration Resources

Many consider the methodology used in Cochrane Reviews to be the gold standard for systematic reviews. But what is a Cochrane Review and what is its relationship to the Cochrane Collaboration, the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, and the Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Collaboration is an international voluntary organization that prepares, maintains and promotes the accessibility of systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare. Collaborative Review Groups, each focused on a particular topic area, produce and maintain systematic reviews. More information is available on their website http://www.cochrane.org/

The Cochrane Library is a database from the Cochrane Collaboration that allows simultaneous searching of six EBM databases. The Cochrane Library is licensed by the Levy Library for the Mount Sinai community.

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is one of the six databases in the Cochrane Library. It contains the full-text of Cochrane Reviews and review protocols.  

Cochrane Reviews are systematic reviews authored by members of the Cochrane Collaboration and published in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. They address specific questions about the effects of clinical interventions: treatments, prevention, screening and rehabilitation. Meta-analysis may be performed.

Abstracts of completed Cochrane Reviews are freely available through PubMed and other open-access databases. The full-text of Cochrane Reviews is available to the Mount Sinai community from Cochrane Library. They are also available through databases such as PubMed via Levy Library's journal article linking service, FIND IT.