Skip to main content

Access Full-text Journal Articles: Articles via E-Journals Database

The E-Journals Database

Journals

To access the E-Journals Database, link from the Levy Library Home Page, or click here.

Levy Library licenses over 10,000 biomedical e-journals, as well as journals in the general sciences, social sciences and humanities. 

More Options

Don't Forget Print Journals
The Library subscribes to about 300 current print journals and has back issues of more journals in print. Some of these are not available online. Find out if the Library holds a print journal by searching the Levy Library Catalog.

Can't Find It?
Use Levy Library's interlibrary loan system, ILLiad, to request books or articles that the Library doesn't have online or in print.

Electronically delivered articles are usually available in 2-3 business days. The ILLiad service is free to Mount Sinai faculty, students and staff (the library absorbs the cost).

Off-Campus Access to Library Resources

Mount Sinai faculty, students, and staff may access most of Levy Library's online resources from off-campus.

For Remote Access You Must Use the Library's Links.

Get Articles through the E-Journals Database

To find full-text articles through one of our E-Journals, begin by searching for a journal in our catalog here: E-Journals Search

Follow the steps below complete your search and find the full-text article:

ejournals screenshot1. Search for a Journal or Browse a List of Journals
Type one or more words from the journal title in the box and click Search.

To browse an alphabetical list, type the first few letters of the journal name and click Search.

 


 

2. Link to a Journal
journal searchThe results for your search appear, with the dates of coverage for each access point (or source).

A journal may be in more than one full-text collection. For example, The Mount Sinai Journal of Medicine is in three collections that have different dates of coverage.

Click the link to the source you wish to access.


 

3. Drill Down to an Article

Example navigationAfter you select a source for the journal, “drill down” to the volume and issue, and then the article.

Each publisher or source has a different interface and “path” to full text. This is one example.


 

4. Select the format: PDF or HTML
On some sites, you may need to find and click a PDF button to open the PDF version of the article.


 

Search E-Journals with the PMID or DOI

Use a PMID (PubMed ID) number or a DOI (Digital Object Identiifier) to quickly retrieve a journal article from Levy Library's E-Journals database. 

doi screenshotInsert the number into the text box and click Search to launch Levy Library's FIND IT service.

Read more about connecting to full-text with FIND IT here.

 What is a DOI?

                 What is a PMID?